FonFlash

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
poffsoft_
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:59 pm

FonFlash

Post by poffsoft_ »

According this guide (lower) , i've flashed two 2200 to Gargoyle 1.4.7.
With Fonflash or freifunk AP the flashing process unsuccessful: when it finished the flashing "All done", the

Code: Select all

 fis list
showed, there is no vmilinux.bin.l7 on the partition.
I've flashed 1.5.x experimental too, but it is not working (no wifi, random reboot).
The best thing in 1.4.7 across 1.3.x that the RAM usage is just 7,4-7,7 Mb (from 13,6) while 1.3.x uses 11,4 Mb, so i hope quos, quota will work on it now.
I guess, in fonflash, after flash you can check the fis also, so can check if a flash is successful.
Another guess, an option to manual override the params in script, or a possibility to log in to fonera with telnet console to check if everything is okay...
Another guess, if fonflash finished, no close automatically, or if it close, please save and open a text log on flash procedure.
And the main thing: in log on screen or in text, need time/date/duration, in each step. i mean something like this:

log:

Code: Select all

"RedBoot> fis init -f
Started: 2013.01.01 12:00:00 
Elapsed: xx:xx:xx 
<= this counter can count during fonera is working, to show, that the flashing in progress

Code: Select all

< fonera answer, if finished the command>
Finished:2013.01.01 12:16:34"
So may you can build into the fonflash to help to flash the good old fonera :D

juzis28 wrote:I successfully flashed v 1.3.13 to my fonera 2200 over serial console.
If you have telnet enabled reboot (over 9000 port), you could enter those commands too.
There was only one thing to edit: start of rootfs address.

Here is what i did:
1. I used tftp32 server and uploaded images to fonera by:

Code: Select all

load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} gargoyle_1.3.13-atheros-vmlinux.lzma
2. Deleted old images:

Code: Select all

fis init
3. created new kernel:

Code: Select all

fis create -e 0x80041000 -r 0x80041000 vmlinux.bin.l7 
4. After this i checked the free space available

Code: Select all

fis free 
and got addresses:

Code: Select all

RedBoot> fis free
  0xA8100000 .. 0xA87E0000
5. Then i substracted the first from seccond and i got:

Code: Select all

6E0000
So, here is an potentially dangerous thing on your guide (you suggest blindy flash it to 6F0000). I do not know what issues it does, might it is ok, if it makes no sense - i`m sorry :)
6. Now i loaded the root filesystem to the box:

Code: Select all

load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} gargoyle_1.3.13-atheros-root.squashfs
7. Created the partition for it:

Code: Select all

fis create -l 0x006E0000 rootfs 

8. Sure, i checked if config is ok:

Code: Select all

fconfig -l 
and rebooted fonera...

Those 1-7 steps are ok for me, i flashed 2 foneras without problems.
Gargoyle works well, thank you for great job!

muskratsprings
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:11 pm

Re: FonFlash

Post by muskratsprings »

You might try my modified version of Fon-flash at

https://sites.google.com/site/fonflashb ... lwifi/home

I was having a problem with the reported free space from Redboot to Fon-flash being wrong .. flashing would fail.

// unsigned long flash_boundary_max = space_max;
unsigned long flash_boundary_max = space_max - 0x00010000;

I suspect your router may have the same broken version of redboot on it..

See Topic

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/vi ... =14&t=2596

Post Reply