QoS Philosophy

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

pbix
Developer

QoS Philosophy

Post by pbix »

Hi Eric,
I have been working with DD-WRT for a couple of years now and recently came upon your work with Gargoyle. I am intrigued by your stated philosophy to keep your interface clean and simple in order to make the experience for new users straight forward. Other features are available to power users via the command prompt.

I have successfully flashed a new WRT54G-TM with your software. (A procedure I could share if you like) and started to play with your interface.

I have a particular interest in QoS since this is something that is pretty broken over in the DD-WRT world. Looking at how you arranged your qdisc, classes and filters it seems OK but I am curious how you came up with this. There seems to be countless ways to implement QoS and so maybe you could tell us what goals you had in mind. One thing I notice is that you have different upload vs. download filtering. This seems counter to your keep it simple philosophy. Also you chose to put your qdiscs on the LAN side rather than the WAN side so what is the idea there?

I'll look forward to your response.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

Eric
Site Admin

Re: QoS Philosophy

Post by Eric »