Other client qouta usage

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Desert Eyes
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 2:20 pm

Other client qouta usage

Postby Desert Eyes » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:31 am

I am using static ip setup for qouta usage in my Gargoyle 1.1.0 tp link 841Nv10. I observed that when clients changes their static ip by themselves they can use qouta of other clients. It happens only when other client is disconnected and his ip is empty. I set up restriction for blocking other ip than my own assigned but the assigned clients can manipulate the data usage by changing their ip address.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Other client qouta usage

Postby Lantis » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:27 pm

If you set a static ip for the client they shouldn’t be changing it themselves? If they are:
Connection->DHCP
Enforce DHCP Assignments

This will ensure that packets come from both the correct IP and the correct MAC.
If they spoof both of those you’ve got bigger problems to deal with anyway.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases


Return to “Monitoring / Quota / QoS Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest