Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
Moderator: Moderators
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
ok, all done and back to dd-wrt firmware...
cheers
cheers
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:37 pm
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
Follow these instructions using the latest Ubuntu Live CD:
Once your PC is booted into Ubuntu (a full install works too) open up terminal on Ubuntu and perform the following command:
sudo apt-get install tftp
(you may have to enable Community-maintained software downloads at "System->Administration->Software Sources")
Unplug the power cable on your router and continue with the following commands.
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.11.2
sudo ifconfig eth0 netmask 255.255.255.0
sudo arp -s 192.168.11.1 00:00:00:00:00:00
(Insert your router's MAC address in place of 00:00:00:00:00:00)
tftp 192.168.11.1
(Note that your command prompt now looks like tftp> )
binary
rexmt 1
timeout 60
trace
put gargoyle_1.3.5-ar71xx-wzr-hp-g300nh-squashfs-tftp.bin
(this assumes you have already downloaded the firmware file and that you launched tftp from the same directory you saved the firmware file to)
Plug in the power cord to the router and wait for the transfer/update process to complete.
The router should then reboot and complete the flashing process. Reboot your computer and/or re-enable DHCP. Wait 5 minutes or so and then connect to your router.
Once your PC is booted into Ubuntu (a full install works too) open up terminal on Ubuntu and perform the following command:
sudo apt-get install tftp
(you may have to enable Community-maintained software downloads at "System->Administration->Software Sources")
Unplug the power cable on your router and continue with the following commands.
sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.11.2
sudo ifconfig eth0 netmask 255.255.255.0
sudo arp -s 192.168.11.1 00:00:00:00:00:00
(Insert your router's MAC address in place of 00:00:00:00:00:00)
tftp 192.168.11.1
(Note that your command prompt now looks like tftp> )
binary
rexmt 1
timeout 60
trace
put gargoyle_1.3.5-ar71xx-wzr-hp-g300nh-squashfs-tftp.bin
(this assumes you have already downloaded the firmware file and that you launched tftp from the same directory you saved the firmware file to)
Plug in the power cord to the router and wait for the transfer/update process to complete.
The router should then reboot and complete the flashing process. Reboot your computer and/or re-enable DHCP. Wait 5 minutes or so and then connect to your router.
- DoesItMatter
- Moderator
- Posts: 1373
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
Anyone running this router with 1.3.6 and get USB to mount?
I did an opkg update, installed some extra packages mentioned here:
http://www.tolaris.com/2010/09/01/openw ... hp-g300nh/
But still it won't let me mount the drive.
I suspect I don't understand this part:
mkdir /mnt/usbstorage -p
uci set fstab.@mount[0].target=/mnt/usbstorage
uci set fstab.@mount[0].device=/dev/sda1
uci set fstab.@mount[0].fstype=auto
uci set fstab.@mount[0].enabled=1
uci set fstab.@mount[0].options=rw,sync,noatime,nodiratime
uci commit fstab
/etc/init.d/fstab enable
/etc/init.d/fstab restart
-----------------
Is that working only if you have Luci installed?
Do I need to manually edit fstab instead?
I did an opkg update, installed some extra packages mentioned here:
http://www.tolaris.com/2010/09/01/openw ... hp-g300nh/
But still it won't let me mount the drive.
I suspect I don't understand this part:
mkdir /mnt/usbstorage -p
uci set fstab.@mount[0].target=/mnt/usbstorage
uci set fstab.@mount[0].device=/dev/sda1
uci set fstab.@mount[0].fstype=auto
uci set fstab.@mount[0].enabled=1
uci set fstab.@mount[0].options=rw,sync,noatime,nodiratime
uci commit fstab
/etc/init.d/fstab enable
/etc/init.d/fstab restart
-----------------
Is that working only if you have Luci installed?
Do I need to manually edit fstab instead?
Soylent Green Is People!
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
-
- Posts: 113
- Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 3:12 am
Success with Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH
This worked for me. I had to change my factory buffalo firmware to the DD-WRT version available on the Buffalo site for this router in order to telnet in and perform these tasks.
Note: DD-WRT firmware is also 192.168.11.1 like Buffalo default firmware.
Running nicely on my new buffalo router. Thanks for the help DoesItMatter. Gargoyle is just what I needed!
Note: DD-WRT firmware is also 192.168.11.1 like Buffalo default firmware.
Code: Select all
##From dd-wrt try these commands from a ssh/telnet session.
cd /tmp
wget http://www.gargoyle-router.com/downloads/images/ar71xx/gargoyle_1.3.12-ar71xx-wzr-hp-g300nh-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
mtd -e linux -r write gargoyle_1.3.12-ar71xx-wzr-hp-g300nh-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin linux
Netgear WNDR3700V2 Gargoyle 1.10.0
TP-LINK Archer C7 v4 Gargoyle 1.12
TP-LINK Archer C7 v4 Gargoyle 1.12
- DoesItMatter
- Moderator
- Posts: 1373
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/vi ... ?f=6&t=979
Read through that thread as well!
You can add the option 'noscan' in /etc/config/wireless
That will force the router to use 40 mhz bandwidth mode.
Read through that thread as well!
You can add the option 'noscan' in /etc/config/wireless
That will force the router to use 40 mhz bandwidth mode.
Soylent Green Is People!
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
Hi Guys;
What I'm wanting to do is revert back to the Buffalo factory firmware
I've tried the WebUI but all I get for 10 mins or so is the Spinner.
I've been trying eg: mtd -e linux -r write firmware.bin linux
I keep getting this error
"Could not open mtd device: linux
Can't open device for writing!"
Short after I reboot the router and now have a flashing red diag light and no access to it
please help and thanks in advance
What I'm wanting to do is revert back to the Buffalo factory firmware
I've tried the WebUI but all I get for 10 mins or so is the Spinner.
I've been trying eg: mtd -e linux -r write firmware.bin linux
I keep getting this error
"Could not open mtd device: linux
Can't open device for writing!"
Short after I reboot the router and now have a flashing red diag light and no access to it
please help and thanks in advance
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
hey I've got a WZR-HP-G300NH japanese version. does it work with the gargoyle firmware as well as the EU/US version?
- DoesItMatter
- Moderator
- Posts: 1373
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
http://scarygliders.net/2010/02/23/hack ... -hp-g300n/AF35 wrote:hey I've got a WZR-HP-G300NH japanese version. does it work with the gargoyle firmware as well as the EU/US version?
Check that page to flash your Japanese WZR-HP-G300NH
You need to do a couple diff steps
Once its unlocked, you can flash between DDWRT, OpenWRT/Gargoyle
Soylent Green Is People!
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
thanks for that post. that was the post i found earlier. I end up cancelling my purchase and going to buy a EU/US version lol
And just how many different versions of WZR-HP-G300NH routers are out there? I'd like to make sure the router I buy is fully compatible with gargoyle.
And just how many different versions of WZR-HP-G300NH routers are out there? I'd like to make sure the router I buy is fully compatible with gargoyle.
- DoesItMatter
- Moderator
- Posts: 1373
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm
Re: Need help with Buffalo wzr-hp-g300nh
Depends how the manufacturer buys batches of parts.
On the WZR-HP-G300N's, there are 2 hex codes (sometimes more)
near the serial # or near the MAC addy of the router.
Might be like - A0 A3 (japan type), B0 B0, etc
I've also read there are others that do NOT have the double hex code
and have some other #'s - I think those are the ones that have trouble
flashing 3rd party firmwares - they might have different chips in them.
On the WZR-HP-G300N's, there are 2 hex codes (sometimes more)
near the serial # or near the MAC addy of the router.
Might be like - A0 A3 (japan type), B0 B0, etc
I've also read there are others that do NOT have the double hex code
and have some other #'s - I think those are the ones that have trouble
flashing 3rd party firmwares - they might have different chips in them.
Soylent Green Is People!
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400