x86 installation

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

marcinkk
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: x86 installation

Post by marcinkk »

Maybe I should start new topic, but I think I have the same problem. I've installed Gargoyle 1.14 on VirtualBox VM. I used gargoyle_1.14.0-x86-64-generic-ext4-combined.img.gz. VM with to NICs.

Network configuration after first run:

Code: Select all

config device 'brlan_dev'
        option name 'br-lan'
        option type 'bridge'
        list ports 'eth0'

config interface 'lan'
        option device 'br-lan'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
So LAN assigned to eth0, no WAN at all.
When I set in Internet/WAN Connect Via to DHCP (Wired) the configuration changed to:

Code: Select all

config interface 'lan'
        option device 'br-lan'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
        option ip6ifaceid '::1'
        option dns '192.168.1.1'

config device 'wan_eth0_dev'
        option name 'eth0'
        option macaddr '08:00:27:d7:e6:3e'

config interface 'wan'
        list device 'eth0'
        option proto 'dhcp'
        option ipv6 '0'
The result: Neither WAN nor LAN works :(
I've changed manually from console to:

Code: Select all

config device 'brlan_dev'
        option name 'br-lan'
        option type 'bridge'
        list ports 'eth1'

config interface 'lan'
        option device 'br-lan'
        option proto 'static'
        option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
        option ip6ifaceid '::1'
        option dns '192.168.1.1'

config device 'wan_eth0_dev'
        option name 'eth0'
        option macaddr '08:00:27:d7:e6:3e'

config interface 'wan'
        option device 'eth0'
        option proto 'dhcp'
        option ipv6 '0'
Works, but if I changed configuration in web interface, LAN IP to 192.168.1.2 the configuration changed to:

Code: Select all

config interface 'lan'
        option device 'br-lan'
        option proto 'static'
        option netmask '255.255.255.0'
        option ip6assign '60'
        option ip6ifaceid '::1'
        option dns '192.168.1.2'
        option ipaddr '192.168.1.2'

config device 'wan_eth0_dev'
        option name 'eth0'
        option macaddr '08:00:27:d7:e6:3e'

config interface 'wan'
        option proto 'dhcp'
        option ipv6 '0'
        list device 'eth0'
And again: Nothing works :(
The only help: restore configuration in console/terminal.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 7063
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: x86 installation

Post by Lantis »

Did you download this image or compile it yourself?
There should be a script that runs on first boot to populate all Ethernet ports for you.
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... etup.patch

It would be more interesting to know why this did not run.
Did you have both NIC enabled in the VM when you first booted it or did you add one later? It only runs once

Once you have fixed it manually, delete /etc/gargoyle_default_ifs and the GUI should behave better. The file will be recreated with the right values.
https://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoylebuilds for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

marcinkk
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:09 pm

Re: x86 installation

Post by marcinkk »

Code: Select all

# cat /etc/gargoyle_default_ifs
default_lan_if  eth0
default_wan_if  eth0
default_wan_mac 08:00:27:D7:E6:3E
I deleted: /etc/gargoyle_default_ifs, /etc/config/network, /etc/config/system and rebooted. The same faulty configuration was recreated.

I modified manually /etc/gargoyle_default_ifs to state:

Code: Select all

default_lan_if  eth1
default_wan_if  eth0
default_wan_mac 08:00:27:D7:E6:3E
And now I can make changes in GUI.

I'm not sure if all network interfaces was available on the first run. I'll try to install from scratch to check if works properly.

EDIT: New install. Both network interfaces active on the first run. Everything works properly. So the mistake was: First run without all network interfaces.

EDIT 2: I had a problem with the VM, but Lantis' answer helped me with installation on MiniPC hardware (Dell WYSE 5070) with a 4-port LAN PCIe card. I manually corrected /etc/gargoyle_default_ifs to get the WAN port on the motherboard and 4x LAN on the additional network card. After change the settings in the GUI works correctly.

Post Reply