Router Speed tests

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by Lantis »

160Mbps per GHz for QoS
670Mbps per GHz without QoS

Roughly...
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

bigM
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:39 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by bigM »

Good to know that I'm ok on my NBN HFC 100/40 Mbps link.

Thanks for the firmware.
Linksys WRT1200ACv1 - Gargoyle 1.11.0
100/40 Mbps NBN HFC

top_s
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by top_s »

Reposting here some speedtest I made on the 1.11.0 RC5 topic.

Testing on an AR150 device over ~500/500 link (at the time of this post).

My network layout is (outsite > inside)
ISPs Fiber ONU > WDR4300(stock fw) > AR150 (1.11.0 RC5) > PC (ookla speedtest app for windows).
Everything cabled. Gigabit when possible.

Speed test results on different scenarios:

1-
Default config after flash (QOS disabled/BWmon enabled):
94mbps/94mbps (hard limit by eth; top shows 0.70 cpu load while running a 10MBs download)

2-
QOS enabled (up and down, default rules)/ACC off/BWmon enabled:
60mbps/66mbps (top shows 0.98 cpu load while running a 6,5MBs download)

3-
QOS enabled (up and down, default rules)/ACC ON/BWmon enabled:
57mbps/65mbps (top shows 1.15 cpu load while running a 6,5MBs download)
No unnecessary "fair link limit" cap. GUI is still responsive.
ACC seems much easier for the router to handle than in previous versions.

4-
QOS enabled (up and down, default rules)/ACC ON/BWmon OFF:
82mbps/84mbps (top shows 1.03 cpu load with 8,8MBs download)
No unnecessary "fair link limit" cap. GUI is still responsive.
ACC seems much easier for the router to handle than in previous versions.
WDR4300 v1 (stock)
WR941nd v2 (1.9.2)
WA901nd v2 (1.6.2)
2x WR741nd (1.6.2)

(Up to) 1gbps up/down link

User avatar
oliver44
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 1:29 am
Location: Romanaia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by oliver44 »

Hello,

I own the next router wrt19000acs v2, with the latest software version at Gargoyle, internet connection speed 1Gbps.
This router with the wirless mode disabled can reach 930Mbps speed, when I activate the wirless function, the speed drops somewhere below 700Mbps.
It is a bug or a software limitation, this problem can be corrected?
http://s.go.ro/ml4fro8q
wdr3600 rev1.4 SuperWrt/OpenWrt
wrt1900ACS v.2 SuperWrt/OpenWrt
https://superwrt.download/home/
https://superwrt.download/f/

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by Lantis »

The Wi-Fi driver and handling the interrupts puts additional load on the CPU, meaning it can't deal with as much WAN throughput.
It's simply a limitation of the device.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Pierrot
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:32 am

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by Pierrot »

Hi guys I'm a newbie on this forum :o

karenmcd
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:41 pm

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by karenmcd »

there's a new modem from my ISP purporting a 2.5 Gbps port. I'm running 2 wrt1900ac/s and also manage my daughter's wrt1900ac remotely. as I understand it, they will need an upgrade if I upgrade my modem. Is there a router that supports these speeds and runs gargoyle? I'm happy to make a new post if this is considered derailing.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6049
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by Lantis »

I'm not aware of any commercially available routers currently supported by Gargoyle that have a > 1gbps port on them.
A custom x86 based router would be the closest thing i think.

The ISP port, is that on the LAN or the WAN side of things?
What is your main concern?

Ultimately my thoughts are that you won't be able to saturate the port anyway so it woulnd't be a huge worry (today...).
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

pythonic
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by pythonic »

karenmcd wrote:
Sun Jun 06, 2021 8:44 pm
there's a new modem from my ISP purporting a 2.5 Gbps port. ... they will need an upgrade if I upgrade my modem.
You would only need an upgrade if
- the 2.5Gbps port didn't also support 1Gbps (most unlikely); or
- you needed >1Gbps throughput

karenmcd
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:41 pm

Re: Router Speed tests

Post by karenmcd »

Thanks,

yeah, I was just going to attempt to future proof my setup for a while if it was possible. much appreciation for the quick replies I'll speed test my routers later today after work.

the port is on the lan side, and they say the wan side "will support up to" the same. I doubt it goes, or could go over even 1 Gbps, but I remember when 28.8 baud modems came out and the fastest copper lines could support was 19,200... :)

Post Reply