TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
pawelg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:54 am

TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pawelg »

TL-WR941nd v3.3, flashed with gargoyle_1.3.9-ar71xx-tl-wr941nd-v3-squashfs-factory.bin

First boot went OK, but after setup WAN interface as a PPPoE and reboot I wasn't able to access the router from LAN.

Network setup made by gargoyle GUI (relevant part):
config interface eth
option ifname eth0
config interface lan
option ifname "wlan0"
option type bridge
config interface wan
option ifname eth0
option proto pppoe
The router however has 4 LAN port with interface name "lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4" and 1 WAN port with interface name "wan". With manual change in /etc/config/network to:
config interface lan
option ifname "lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4"

config interface wan
option ifname wan
option proto pppoe
I was able to access the router from LAN (DHCP works fine), but PPPoE session is not established. In gargoyle GUI WAN port is marked as LAN, despite previous setup.

It seems like gargoyle dosen't properly recognize router interfaces. How can I deal with this problem?

BR,
PawelG

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by Eric »

Hmm.. it's screwing up the LAN config. Maybe there's something odd/different with the initial switch configuration in that router (I don't have this one). Could you do a fresh install, and then post the default /etc/config/network here?

pawelg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:54 am

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pawelg »

Sorry for late reply, had to wait for serial cable...
Fresh install 1.3.9:

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/# cat /etc/config/network
config interface loopback
        option ifname   lo
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0

config interface eth
        option ifname   eth0
        option proto    none

config interface lan
        option ifname   "lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4"
        option type     bridge
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.1
        option netmask  255.255.255.0

config interface wan
        option ifname   wan
        option proto    dhcp

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pbix »

Please also show the results of the following commands on your WR941ND.

ifconfig

uci show network

cat /var/state/network

Hopefully we can get to the bottom of this.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

pawelg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:54 am

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pawelg »

ifconfig

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/# ifconfig
br-lan    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:267 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:197 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:22401 (21.8 KiB)  TX bytes:13203 (12.8 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:367 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:91 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:54194 (52.9 KiB)  TX bytes:10376 (10.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:4

lan1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lan2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lan3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lan4      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:367 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:47588 (46.4 KiB)  TX bytes:8709 (8.5 KiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:81 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:81 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:5436 (5.3 KiB)  TX bytes:5436 (5.3 KiB)

wan       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
uci show network

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/# uci show network
network.loopback=interface
network.loopback.ifname=lo
network.loopback.proto=static
network.loopback.ipaddr=127.0.0.1
network.loopback.netmask=255.0.0.0
network.eth=interface
network.eth.ifname=eth0
network.eth.proto=none
network.lan=interface
network.lan.ifname=lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4
network.lan.type=bridge
network.lan.proto=static
network.lan.ipaddr=192.168.1.1
network.lan.netmask=255.255.255.0
network.wan=interface
network.wan.ifname=wan
network.wan.proto=dhcp
cat /var/state/network

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/# cat /var/state/network
network.loopback.device=lo
network.loopback.up=1
network.loopback.connect_time=9
network.eth.device=eth0
network.eth.up=1
network.eth.connect_time=10
network.lan.device=lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4
network.lan.ifname=br-lan
network.lan.up=1
network.lan.connect_time=12
network.wan.device=wan

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pbix »

Well its not obvious to me what is wrong here and since I do not have the router in question I cannot look into it myself.

Have you seen this problem with v1.3.8?

If you don't know have have the time try it and post the same files that were previously asked for.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by Eric »

Yeah, that lan configuration is like nothing I've seen before for any other router. No wonder it's causing problems!

There is no switch configuration, but another "eth" section and then you have the ifname set to the "lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4" I'm really not sure exactly what's going on here or why the configuration needs to be so completely different for this router.

pawelg
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:54 am

Re: TL-WR941ND - problem with 1.3.9

Post by pawelg »

1.3.8 is the same, after fresh install:

cat /etc/config/network

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# cat /etc/config/network
config interface loopback
        option ifname   lo
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0

config interface eth
        option ifname   eth0
        option proto    none

config interface lan
        option ifname   "lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4"
        option type     bridge
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.1
        option netmask  255.255.255.0

config interface wan
        option ifname   wan
        option proto    dhcp
ifconfig

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# ifconfig
br-lan    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:253 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:110 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:22949 (22.4 KiB)  TX bytes:12770 (12.4 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:344 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:111 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:52724 (51.4 KiB)  TX bytes:14505 (14.1 KiB)
          Interrupt:4

lan1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:344 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:110 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:46532 (45.4 KiB)  TX bytes:12770 (12.4 KiB)

lan2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lan3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lan4      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:744 (744.0 B)  TX bytes:744 (744.0 B)

wan       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr D8:5D:4C:C6:D8:94
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
uci show network

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# uci show network
network.loopback=interface
network.loopback.ifname=lo
network.loopback.proto=static
network.loopback.ipaddr=127.0.0.1
network.loopback.netmask=255.0.0.0
network.eth=interface
network.eth.ifname=eth0
network.eth.proto=none
network.lan=interface
network.lan.ifname=lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4
network.lan.type=bridge
network.lan.proto=static
network.lan.ipaddr=192.168.1.1
network.lan.netmask=255.255.255.0
network.wan=interface
network.wan.ifname=wan
network.wan.proto=dhcp
cat /var/state/network

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:~# cat /var/state/network
network.loopback.device=lo
network.loopback.up=1
network.eth.device=eth0
network.eth.up=1
network.lan.device=lan1 lan2 lan3 lan4
network.lan.ifname=br-lan
network.lan.up=1
network.wan.device=wan

Post Reply