Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Fonel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:03 pm

Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Fonel »

I am not very satisfied with the current Fonera firmware since it offers a lot of features that are not important to me, while missing those that are. Yet I do not want to lose my status at Fon or the ability to share my internet with other Foneros so I was wondering if it is possible to make the Gargoyle firmware send the heartbeat to Fon and allow me to share the internet with other Fon users? If possible how do I go about to do it since I doubt it comes configured this way?

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Eric »

My understanding is that it's possible, but highly non-trivial. I haven't tried it, but have heard of several people modifying openwrt to include the FON functionality.

I haven't done this personally, but here are a few links to get you started:

A link to someone who implemented fon heartbeat:
http://files.tac-ops.net/FON/gpl_heartbeat_04.html

A guide to implementing captive portal/fon wireless sharing in dd-wrt (which is very similar in many ways to openwrt):
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/FON_Hotspot

The source code of the Fon firmware (just take a look and see how they do it!):
http://trac.fonosfera.org/fon-ng/browser

Fonel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Fonel »

Thank you, I will take a look and try it out.

Fonel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Fonel »

I have now tried to get this to work, but I have not been successful. I did manage to find more information about the heartbeat at the same place you suggested I find information about the captive portal including links to even more heartbeat scripts, but both scripts for the heartbeat and captive portal requires the use of nvram which OpenWRT has done away with so I am a bit lost as to how I might accomplish my goal. Any suggestions?

The mentioned information page is http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La ... rtbeat-dev

Fonel
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Fonel »

Since I received an email from fon regarding my Fonera being offline (which it wasn't, it was just running Gargoyle) I decided to first focus on the heartbeat and after trying out everything I could think off, I have come to a point that just confuses me as to how the Fonera firmware does it. I did find what I believe to be the heartbeat script the Fonera uses here:

http://trac.fonosfera.org/fon-ng/browse ... thinclient
http://trac.fonosfera.org/fon-ng/browse ... /rc.common
http://trac.fonosfera.org/fon-ng/browse ... opbear/key
http://trac.fonosfera.org/fon-ng/browse ... nown_hosts

Although the script runs, the Fonera does not get registered at fon which is to bad because I like the Gargoyle firmware a great deal more then the Fonera one. Has anyone had any luck getting a Fonera running Gargoyle to register itself at fon?

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Eric »

No guarantees... but try doing the following. I had a few minutes, so I put this together for you based on the examples I listed before. I don't actually have an account at FON so I can't verify that the update sends the right info, but I've verified the script will run ok.

You need 3 files:
1) Put the fon_key file in /etc

2) Put the fonbeat.sh file in /usr/lib

3) Put the root file in /etc/crontabs

After you've copied the files to the to the router, ssh in and run:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/cron enable ; /etc/init.d/cron start
These commands start the cron daemon to do the updates. Then the update script will run every half hour.

Let me know if it does/doesn't work.

desperado
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:29 am

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by desperado »

Good morning.
First of all a want give my thanksgiving to all staff becouse a couple of days ago, i compromise my ddwrt fonera fimware.
i followed several guides, but the fact that i'm running leopard osx, was a problem...
thanks to your staff noe my fonera is bring to life.
i've only two question..
i'm using edge firmware and it works great. before it i used ddwrt for my fonera, and i had the opportunit to modify my wifi power output.
is there a way to do this with edge firmware???

the secon questio is that i enabled my ssh on my fon, but if from termina i digit

desperado-s:~ desperado$ telnet 192.168.1.1 22
Trying 192.168.1.1...
Connected to 192.168.1.1.
Escape character is '^]'.
SSH-2.0-dropbear_0.51
the cursor blink. but i doesn't ask me my user and password.
what can i do whit my ssh interface?????
thank you

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Eric »

1) There is currently no way to adjust txpower, unless you do it manually by editing /etc/config/wireless

2) SSH is active, not telnet. To access your router via ssh run

Code: Select all

ssh root@192.168.1.1
You will be prompted for root's password (default=password), and then you can login.

desperado
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:29 am

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by desperado »

I did it:


Last login: Wed Apr 22 18:19:48 on ttys000
desperado-s:~ desperado$ ssh root@192.168.1.1
root@192.168.1.1's password:


BusyBox v1.11.2 (2009-04-18 15:43:08 EDT) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

_______ ________ __
| |.-----.-----.-----.| | | |.----.| |_
| - || _ | -__| || | | || _|| _|
|_______|| __|_____|__|__||________||__| |____|
|__| W I R E L E S S F R E E D O M
KAMIKAZE (8.09, unknown) ----------------------------
* 10 oz Vodka Shake well with ice and strain
* 10 oz Triple sec mixture into 10 shot glasses.
* 10 oz lime juice Salute!
---------------------------------------------------
root@OpenWrt:~# /etc/config/wireless
-ash: /etc/config/wireless: Permission denied
root@OpenWrt:~#


Permission denied???? why?????/ :geek:

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Using Gargoyle on a Fonera

Post by Eric »

Errr.. you need to edit, not execute /etc/config/wireless.

Typing /etc/config/wireless tells the system to try to execute the file, and because it's a configuration file, not a binary or a script, it's permissions are set so execution is not allowed.

Busybox includes a trimmed-down version of vi. Use vi to edit the file, e.g:

Code: Select all

vi /etc/config/wireless
Then add this line under the wifi-device config section:

Code: Select all

option txpower  [transmission power in dBm] 

Post Reply