cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
salvanost
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:30 pm

cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by salvanost »

firmware: 1.5.11
router: Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2

already set timer to restart the router at 5 am and 5 pm
but need to restart manually 2-3 times at random time

any solution? thx

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4886
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by ispyisail »

that firmware is really old?

What is the history of this router?

What has changed?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by DoesItMatter »

The Wireless is MUCH better in Chaos Calmer

Try Gargoyle 1.8 on your router

Since the firmware is so old, you will have to do this:

1) Download the 1.8 firmware (sysupgrade file)
2) Backup your old config (so you can view it later to copy settings)
3) Reset the router to defaults
4) Flash the 1.8 sysupgrade file
5) Re-configure fresh - DO NOT load your old config file - won't work

You'll find the new version runs much better on the Buffalo WZR
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4886
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by ispyisail »


salvanost
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by salvanost »

ispyisail wrote:1.8 = BB

CC here

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=7745

that one is 1.9 right?
should i try 1.9? or go to download section and try 1.8?

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by tapper »

1.9 is good mate but dont save settings if you do save settings you will end up in a boot loop.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

salvanost
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by salvanost »

upgrade to 1.9 firmware
skip 1.8 because there is same complain (about wifi connection)
got no problem

allright will list the old problem before upgrade the firmware
1. need to restart router, if cannot connect to the wifi, the worse need to restart after 15 minutes
2. couple of devices cannot find the wifi
3. swapping the wifi receiver could temporary solve the problem
4. unstable signal, reconnect could change the signal and speed
5. very slow response from internet
6. very slow response from gargoyle UI
7. need to reload several time to get the UI value
8. i notice the problem occured when there is too much connected host (about 20, or when 1 of the host reach end of the dhcp ip)
9. notice the change from 26 to max 18 from transmit power in new firmware

salvanost
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by salvanost »

so far so good,
no need to restart the router
all devices could connect to the wifi

no regret upgrading to 1.9 :mrgreen:

Volaris
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: cannot connect to wifi, must restart the router

Post by Volaris »

I have the same router and had similar problems from 1.7 to 1.8. I found the problem was that by default it disabled ANI. Removing that line, as mentioned in the thread below, fixed wireless stability.
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=7631&start=40

Gargoyle's builders then implemented the fix in 1.8.1 and 1.9, so those two firmwares (and anything released after them from here on) should be stable. The fix isn't specific to the router... might help other routers if they had similar issue. (was related to some AR71XX routers according to OpenWRT).

But yes, I've found 1.9 to be very stable on this router. :D
QoS Tip: Don't complicate your QoS settings. Gargoyle evenly splits available bandwidth between active devices as needed. Just delete all your classification rules and leave only one normal service class and you're done. No more arguing over bandwidth.

Post Reply