Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
hello_world.c
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:09 am

Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by hello_world.c »

I have been running Gargoyle 1.5.10 for about 10 days. Today was the second time within that period that it updated my dynamic DNS address not to my WAN IP but to 74.125.67.106 which according to an IP lookup belongs to Google. The dynamic DNS provider is dyndns.com and their web interface both times showed a last update time in alignment with what Gargoyle said, so I know the update couldn't have come from another place. I have a suspicion it happened when I was accessing the dynamic DNS hostname from my internal network but I have no proof.

A "force update" from the Gargoyle web interface fixed it both times but I am afraid it's going to happen when I am away which will put me dead in the water if I can't reach my server at home. So I'd like to get to the bottom of this if possible.

Is there a log for the dynamic DNS module that I can turn on and look at? Will it show me the reason for the update and where it fetched the current WAN IP address from? Any pointers are appreciated.

BashfulBladder
Moderator
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:43 pm

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by BashfulBladder »

You can ssh into the router & use 'logread' or possibly 'dmesg'. logread is only going to hold so much data (in RAM), so you can't see messages from 3 days ago.
TP-Link WDR3600 v1.1 running 1.5.10+ L10n-English (Built 20130922 - OpenWrt r38093)
TP-Link WDR4300 running 1.5.10+ i18n-English (Built 20131010 - OpenWrt r38286)

https://github.com/BashfulBladder/gargoyle-plugins/wiki

hello_world.c
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by hello_world.c »

OK, it happened again this morning. This is what logread says:

Code: Select all

Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]: Checking whether update needed:
Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       service provider=dyndns.com
Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       domain=XXXX.XXXXX.XXX
Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:               Successfully retrieved local ip from url: http://automation.whatismyip.com/n09230945.asp
Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       local IP  = 74.125.67.106
Oct  4 10:19:20 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       remote IP = XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
Oct  4 10:19:21 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       Update successful
What it finds for "remote IP" is my WAN IP, but it updates to "local IP" which is the Google server.

When I enter "http://automation.whatismyip.com/n09230945.asp" in a web browser, it returns the Google server, too, every time, so I guess this is what it uses for "local IP". When I go to "http://www.whatismyip.com/", it shows my correct WAN IP address as "Your IP", though.

Any ideas?

hello_world.c
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by hello_world.c »

And this is the reason it works when I do a "force update". It uses a different link:

Code: Select all

Oct  4 10:56:03 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]: Forcing update:
Oct  4 10:56:03 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       service provider=dyndns.com
Oct  4 10:56:03 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       domain=XXXXX.XXXXX.XXXX
Oct  4 10:56:05 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:               Successfully retrieved local ip from url: http://www.selfseo.com/what_is_my_ip.php
Oct  4 10:56:05 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       local IP  = XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
Oct  4 10:56:05 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       remote IP = XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
Oct  4 10:56:06 Gargoyle daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[3915]:       Update successful
There, both local and remote IP are my correct WAN IP.

BashfulBladder
Moderator
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:43 pm

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by BashfulBladder »

http://forum.whatismyip.com/f27/new-lin ... yip-t2288/

Apparently, now you have to register. I'll send Eric a PM regarding this issue. Thanks for digging into it.
TP-Link WDR3600 v1.1 running 1.5.10+ L10n-English (Built 20130922 - OpenWrt r38093)
TP-Link WDR4300 running 1.5.10+ i18n-English (Built 20131010 - OpenWrt r38286)

https://github.com/BashfulBladder/gargoyle-plugins/wiki

hello_world.c
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by hello_world.c »

Thanks and glad I could help. For now I have added automation.whatismyip.com to my hosts file so that the dynamic DNS daemon gets an error when it tries to use that. Hopefully, it will then use the other link.

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by Eric »

This should be fixed now. I re-checked the pages for acquiring the IP address, and pruned the list of all those that don't work.

hello_world.c
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by hello_world.c »

Thanks Eric, but could you please clarify where it is fixed? New builds from source only, or will it be fixed for my existing installation also because the Dynamic DNS Daemon gets the list of links to use online from "some source" that you control?

BashfulBladder
Moderator
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:43 pm

Re: Dynamic DNS updating to wrong IP address

Post by BashfulBladder »

The code has been committed to the gargoyle repository. The only way to use it is to compile yourself.
TP-Link WDR3600 v1.1 running 1.5.10+ L10n-English (Built 20130922 - OpenWrt r38093)
TP-Link WDR4300 running 1.5.10+ i18n-English (Built 20131010 - OpenWrt r38286)

https://github.com/BashfulBladder/gargoyle-plugins/wiki

Post Reply