Dead Fonera 2200?

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

juzis28
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:23 pm

Re: Dead Fonera 2200?

Post by juzis28 »

i`ve got these errors too if my ethernet cable was connected to fonera. I broke procedure and made it from scratch again, but when tftp load of images finished, i disconnected ethernet cable. No errors occurred anymore.

Forgot to say: after re-flashing with gargoyle, i changed fonera`s network settings to avoid IP conflict with my main router wrt54gl (it is set to static 192.168.1.1).

Code: Select all

vi /etc/config/network
config interface loopback
        option ifname   lo
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0

config interface lan
        option ifname   eth0
        option type     bridge
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.6
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
Last edited by juzis28 on Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

poffsoft_
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:59 pm

Re: Dead Fonera 2200?

Post by poffsoft_ »

juzis28 wrote:I successfully flashed v 1.3.13 to my fonera 2200 over serial console.
If you have telnet enabled reboot (over 9000 port), you could enter those commands too.
There was only one thing to edit: start of rootfs address.

Here is what i did:
1. I used tftp32 server and uploaded images to fonera by:

Code: Select all

load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} gargoyle_1.3.13-atheros-vmlinux.lzma
2. Deleted old images:

Code: Select all

fis init
3. created new kernel:

Code: Select all

fis create -e 0x80041000 -r 0x80041000 vmlinux.bin.l7 
4. After this i checked the free space available

Code: Select all

fis free 
and got addresses:

Code: Select all

RedBoot> fis free
  0xA8100000 .. 0xA87E0000
5. Then i substracted the first from seccond and i got:

Code: Select all

6E0000
So, here is an potentially dangerous thing on your guide (you suggest blindy flash it to 6F0000). I do not know what issues it does, might it is ok, if it makes no sense - i`m sorry :)
6. Now i loaded the root filesystem to the box:

Code: Select all

load -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} gargoyle_1.3.13-atheros-root.squashfs
7. Created the partition for it:

Code: Select all

fis create -l 0x006E0000 rootfs 

8. Sure, i checked if config is ok:

Code: Select all

fconfig -l 
and rebooted fonera...

Those 1-7 steps are ok for me, i flashed 2 foneras without problems.
Gargoyle works well, thank you for great job!
According your guide, i've flashed two 2200 to Gargoyle 1.4.7.
With Fonflash or freifunk AP the flashing process unsuccessful: when it finished the flashing "All done", the

Code: Select all

 fis list
showed, there is no vmilinux.bin.l7 on the partition.
I've flashed 1.5.x experimental too, but it is not working (no wifi, random reboot).
The best thing in 1.4.7 across 1.3.x that the RAM usage is just 7,4-7,7 Mb (from 13,6) while 1.3.x uses 11,4 Mb, so i hope quos, quota will work on it now.

after all, i guess, in fonflash, after flash you can check the fis also, so can check if a flash is successful.
Another guess, an option to manual override the params in script, or a possibility to log in to fonera with telnet console to check if everything is okay...
Another guess, if fonflash finished, no close automatically, or if it close, please save and open a text log on flash procedure.
And the main thing: in log on screen or in text, need time/date/duration, in each step. i mean something like this:

log:

Code: Select all

"RedBoot> fis init -f
Started: 2013.01.01 12:00:00 
Elapsed: xx.xx.xx 
<= this counter can count during fonera is working, to show, that the flashing in progress

Code: Select all

< fonera answer, if finished the command>
Finished:2013.01.01 12:16:34"

Post Reply