Tor

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:07 am

Im finding the answers to my own questions

Tor Client mode:

- Enabled, togggled by each host

I understand "Enabled all" but would like to understand how toggled works?


Image

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Tor

Postby DoesItMatter » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:10 pm

Weird, I did not see that Tor portion on my Login screen.

I'll do a couple reboots and check again when I get home.

Did you have to do any special config to enable Tor?
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:57 pm


ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:58 pm

I suspect you haven't enabled "Enabled, Toggled By Each Host"

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Tor

Postby DoesItMatter » Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:45 am

ispyisail wrote:I suspect you haven't enabled "Enabled, Toggled By Each Host"


This does not show up at all.

I tried a reset to defaults, then I flashed back to 1.4.3, and then
I re-upgraded back to the latest 1.5.x

What router do you use ispyisail?

I'm wondering if this is only included on firmware larger than 4MB?

The DIR-601 does not have TOR included it seems (4MB flash)

I'll see if I can upgrade my WZR-HP-G300NH this weekend.

I just checked my firmwares and the firmware you posted.

Eric's 1.5.0 for Dir-601 and your latest version are about the same size
Eric's 1.5.0 for the WZR-HP-G300NH is 5MB
Your 1.5.x with TOR for the WZR-HP-G300NH is 6MB in size

I think 4MB flash routers may be not have TOR included.
Must not have enough room for all the features.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:51 am

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v1-1.8

Strange

I'm using the same firmware as you guys?

I've got other routers if need be

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Tor

Postby DoesItMatter » Fri Dec 02, 2011 2:54 am

ispyisail wrote:TP-Link TL-WR1043ND v1-1.8

Strange

I'm using the same firmware as you guys?

I've got other routers if need be


Yea, that router has 8MB flash chip.

Check the downloads section - the WR1043ND 1.5.0 is 5.3MB
Your file you just compiled for WR1043ND 1.5.x is 6.4MB

It seems as if 4MB flash/16MB ram routers are not enough anymore.
I believe I have been saying that for a while heh. :D
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:01 am

The question is at what point can I update the wiki saying tor does not work on 4meg routers as a fact?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Tor

Postby DoesItMatter » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:08 am

ispyisail wrote:The question is at what point can I update the wiki saying tor does not work on 4meg routers as a fact?


I suspect Eric has to chime in on this.

There is a VERY obvious difference on the 4MB images and the
8MB images though - about 1MB of extra stuff in the 8MB images.

I would think there is some config flag for 4MB flash to not
include certain features in the compilation.

Which makes me wonder if you could have compilation options
in newer versions of Gargoyle?

For example, maybe people who don't need the graphical bandwidth
monitor features or the DDNS stuff, could leave that out and have TOR?
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4655
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Tor

Postby ispyisail » Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:46 am

I would think there is some config flag for 4MB flash to not
include certain features in the compilation.


I can confirm that my 4mb D-Link dir-300 does not show Tor


Return to “Show / Tell / Contribute”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests