cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
tinhtu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:13 am

cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by tinhtu »

I have Linksys wrt54gl as router with LAN IP 192.168.1.1
recently I flashed my Dlink Dir-601 with Gargoyle to set as client bridge. I did not change the LAN IP so it must be 192.168.1.1. Now I try to login 192.168.1.1 it always goes to Linksys router. I tried to hit the seset button of the Dlink, it did not work. Tried 30/30/30 did not work. Tried telnet 192.168.1.1 did not response. Try Fonflash to flash to DD-WRT did not work.

I just want to log in my Dlink client bridge to change Gargoyle setting. Please help. :cry: :?:

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by DoesItMatter »

You will have to connect a computer directly to the one of the LAN
ports on your DIR-601 to access the Gargoyle GUI

When you do this - make sure nothing is plugged into the WAN port
of the Gargoyle GUI so that it doesn't get anything from 192.168.1.x

Make any configuration changes like this, then you can disconnect
the computer from the DIR-601
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

tinhtu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:13 am

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by tinhtu »

DoesItMatter wrote:You will have to connect a computer directly to the one of the LAN
ports on your DIR-601 to access the Gargoyle GUI

I did that
DoesItMatter wrote:When you do this - make sure nothing is plugged into the WAN port
of the Gargoyle GUI so that it doesn't get anything from 192.168.1.x


I set up as wireless bridge. So it should not have anything connect to WAN

I saw you have the Dlink 601 in your signature. Did you set up this:
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/lib ... bridge.jpg

Thank you

tinhtu
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:13 am

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by tinhtu »

I found solution for my problem:

Reinstall the Gargoyle firmware using this tutorial
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/d-link/dir-600#installation

I set for Bridge IP 192.168.1.20
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
AP/Gateway IP 192.168.1.1 (This is form my router)

Right now I can login to my Gargoyle Dlink 601 via 192.168.1.20 :) :idea:

Hope this can help someone.

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by hnl_dk »

In case you have nod32, please try to disable it, before trying to visit the website.
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4884
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by ispyisail »

failsafe may have been another option

http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/generic.failsafe

Nreokfkorer
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:12 pm

Re: cannot login Gargoyle Dlink DIR-601

Post by Nreokfkorer »

Very good and informative exchange .. Thank you!

Post Reply