TL-WR1043ND V3

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Morteza
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:40 am

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Morteza »

Hi guys
I have bought a tl-wr1043nd v3. But there is not any gargoyle official release for it. How can i use gargoyle with it. Which firmware i have to flash and how?
I read this treat but i couldn't find any way to use gargoyle with wr1043nd.
Thanks

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Lantis »

http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Morteza
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:40 am

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Morteza »

Lantis wrote:You can use this version
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... =14&t=9178

Tnx a lot
Is this stable on wr1043nd v3?
Does it work without problems in bandwidth usage monitor?
How to flash it?
This way?:
30-30-30 reset
Flash "gargoyle_1.9.x-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr1043nd-v3-squashfs-factory.bin" on stock's firmware in web gui
30-30-30 reset
Enjoy
Am I right?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Lantis »

Forget the resets and you'll be fine.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

logger
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:09 am

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by logger »

Just picked up a second WR1043ND but it is a V4. Bugger. Does anyone know if it is likely to accept the V3 firmware OK? Or is it risky flashing it. Need to install it at site today.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Lantis »

No, different internal hardware so I wouldn't attempt that at all.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

logger
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:09 am

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by logger »

OK No worries. I have ended up installing it with stock firmware. All good. Will the changes to internal hardware in the v4 preclude a future Gargoyle firmware for it?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5590
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Lantis »

That's more a question for openwrt/LEDE.
If they support it, we can.

The hardware doesn't look unfamiliar so I would guess it is possible.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Beaker
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:27 pm

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by Beaker »

Hi,

I don't know, if someone said it before, but I have found solution to many problems with Gargoyle and router TL-WR1043ND V3.
I have installed one of the Gargoyle images from this topic and the system itself worked perfectly. But, when I have tried install additional software like MC or Nano, it gave me an error (lack of space or something. I don't remember exactly), AdBlock didn't work (installed but it didn't respond and there was no option in GUI), I couldn't remove plugins (segmentation fault- but I could install it) etc. Then I have decided to flash the router with the original TP-Link software, but for the V2 version(another thing: it is working only via CLI, GUI is not responding) and I went back to Gargoyle again, but this time official version from download section from this website. Worked like a charm! Now all above problems were solved.

toysareforboys
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:17 am

Re: TL-WR1043ND V3

Post by toysareforboys »

I've flashed hundreds of 1043ND V3 with the 1.8.1 firmware, never any issues.

Just bought 20 more 1043ND V3 and I can't flash them, dreaded 18005 error :(

Image

Image

Picture of the bottom/FCCid: https://cdn.pximg.xyz/d960161b3734aee4d ... 07dd9d.png

What's the trick to get these to flash?!?

-Jamie M.

Post Reply