Tor with IPV6 enabled

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
rockyd
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:49 am

Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by rockyd »

Got Tor installed on a 1.15 beta. Last version I was using Tor on was 1.12, which had no IPV6.
So I am testing it out with various "what my IP sites", and find that the IPV4 address is anonymized, but the IPV6 address is not. Anyone else play with the Tor plugin, and tested it out with IPV6?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6851
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by Lantis »

It won’t be covered. I’ll look at it but the likely fix is ipv6 gets blocked/disconnected when Tor is active. Similarly for OpenVPN and WireGuard.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

rockyd
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:49 am

Re: Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by rockyd »

Lantis wrote:
Sun Jun 02, 2024 12:38 am
likely fix is ipv6 gets blocked/disconnected when Tor is active
I was thinking maybe a tick box to enable or disable IPV6 in the Tor plugin might be a solution.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6851
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by Lantis »

This should stop the IPv6 leakage in Client mode.
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... b31157a6e4

I've also added IPv6 Relay support.
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... fc2707da50

Separately, I've tested OpenVPN and I'm 98% sure that it is not leaking IPv6 (happy for someone to prove me wrong and show how I can reproduce).
I have not tested WireGuard as yet, I'm pretty sure this one will leak currently at least in some configurations.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

rockyd
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:49 am

Re: Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by rockyd »

I assume you have compile the image yourself to test any of that?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6851
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Tor with IPV6 enabled

Post by Lantis »

You can just make the changes locally to try it, they are all just text files on the router.
Compiling a new version of course will include the change.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply