VLAN tagging on WAN port

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
lollapalooza
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:53 pm

VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by lollapalooza »

Hello,
My ISP has changed the physical layer.
Now I have an ONT where to connect the ETH cable to.

ISP says that the WAN port of the router has to be tagged with a specific VLAN ID.

How do I set up the VLAN tagging for the WAN port?

Thanks a lot.

RomanHK
Posts: 794
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by RomanHK »

Gargoyle does not support VLANs, another option is to install OpenWrt and copy settings from it.
In most cases, the settings apply to the /etc/config/network file.
Turris Omnia with OpenWrt 21.02 - Tested
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.13.x
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

http://gargoyle.romanhk.cz custom builds by gargoyle users

lollapalooza
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by lollapalooza »

Ok, thank you

pythonic
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:47 am
Location: Australia

Re: VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by pythonic »

Another approach, if a hardware solution is acceptable, is to use a small smart switch to provide a VLAN tagged interface to the ONT connecting to an untagged interface to the router WAN port. Netgear and TP-Link both sell 5 port smart switches that I think can do this.

lollapalooza
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by lollapalooza »

Thanks for the suggestion...
Anyway in the meanwhile I tried to connect my Wireless router (which supporta VLAN tagging) to the ONT.

Unfortunately it does not work... after a few researches that seems to be a limitation from the ISP :-(

Furthermore, I see that my Gargoyle router (that is an old WNDR3700v2) isn't enough powerful to support the new ISP speed of 1 Gbps :-(

I believe I'll need to get rid of it for the moment :-(

-taz-
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:21 pm

Re: VLAN tagging on WAN port

Post by -taz- »

My ISP requests VLAN with tagging, how can I configure it?

Post Reply