Hey guys
Question about MTU settings and my Bell Canada WTTH internet. I did some packet tests and discovered that the largest packet I can send without fragmenting is 1412 (ugh). So I know that to set MTU properly you are supposed to add 28 to that for the headers which would take me to 1440.
However I am also sending a VLAN tag because it's bell internet which is another 4. So......do I set my MTU to 1440 or 1444? I have read conflicting reports, some that say add it and some that say it's ignored in the MTU (that is the MTU would accept 1440 OR 1444 if I set it at 1440). I know it's not a big deal in the grand scheme of things but I'm more curious than anything.
Appreciate the help!
EDIT: So last night I set it to 1440 and everything seems to be working okay except that wireless seems a little slow to respond at first. Pages load quickly, speedtest is good once the connection is made. Any input? Have I achieved anything at all or is this just pointless anyway lol.
MTU and VLAN
Moderator: Moderators
Re: MTU and VLAN
It's not something I've ever really learned about. There's a very helpful guy on the OpenWrt forums called moeller who seems to know a lot about it. May be worth posting there or sending him a message.
https://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoylebuilds for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:46 pm
Re: MTU and VLAN
Excellent. I may give him a try then. FYI everything seemed to be working okay and then completely went south just a bit ago. WAN connected with a public IP but no internet (as if the VLAN tag was gone) however I checked and it was still there so makes me wonder if the tags were getting dropped although it would seem strange to happen after 24 hours.
I enjoy playing with stuff like this, keeps my mind fresh at my age. The kids don't enjoy the internet going up and down as I play. Oh well, that's the power you get when you're a parent
I enjoy playing with stuff like this, keeps my mind fresh at my age. The kids don't enjoy the internet going up and down as I play. Oh well, that's the power you get when you're a parent

-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:46 pm
Re: MTU and VLAN
Okay so the guys at OpenWRT are pointing me towards the MTU_FIX switch like this:
config zone
option name wan
list network 'wan'
list network 'wan6'
option input REJECT
option output ACCEPT
option forward REJECT
option masq 1
option mtu_fix 1
Now I'm assuming this option exists in Gargoyle so I would insert it like this....?
config interface 'wan'
option proto 'dhcp'
option ipv6 '0'
option macaddr 'XXXXXXXXXXXX'
option ifname 'eth0.35'
option mtu '1444'
option mtu_fix '1'
config device 'wan_dev'
option name 'eth0.35'
config interface 'wan6'
option ifname 'eth0.35'
option proto 'dhcpv6'
option mtu_fix '1'
However it still doesn't seem to answer my original question of 1440 vs 1444 lol. But I am trying 1444 as you can see above to see what happens.
config zone
option name wan
list network 'wan'
list network 'wan6'
option input REJECT
option output ACCEPT
option forward REJECT
option masq 1
option mtu_fix 1
Now I'm assuming this option exists in Gargoyle so I would insert it like this....?
config interface 'wan'
option proto 'dhcp'
option ipv6 '0'
option macaddr 'XXXXXXXXXXXX'
option ifname 'eth0.35'
option mtu '1444'
option mtu_fix '1'
config device 'wan_dev'
option name 'eth0.35'
config interface 'wan6'
option ifname 'eth0.35'
option proto 'dhcpv6'
option mtu_fix '1'
However it still doesn't seem to answer my original question of 1440 vs 1444 lol. But I am trying 1444 as you can see above to see what happens.
Re: MTU and VLAN
Not quite. that mtu_fix goes in the firewall zone config for Wan, not the network interface.
https://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoylebuilds for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:46 pm
Re: MTU and VLAN
And it was already there lol. Thanks for the push in the right direction.