Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
lwrver
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:53 am

Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by lwrver »

I'm in uncharted territory now folks. I need to edit the "redboot" script to change the default IP address. Can anyone give me a simple 1-2-3 or point me to a step-by-step procedure? I can access the redboot prompt and use "fconfig -l" to show the current configuration, but I can't figure out how to change it. It appears that redboot is too basic to include an editor, so it must be done from the command line. I'm afraid to try it without some guidance, because I'll probably only get one shot at it before I brick it. :?

Thanks!

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by ispyisail »

The easy way is the get a serial cable working

http://oldwiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs( ... nsole.html

There is more than one way of building a cable

http://z.cs.utexas.edu/wiki/parknet.wiki/console

lwrver
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by lwrver »

I thought there was a way to edit once you get to the redboot prompt, and I can get there through the ethernet port. The redboot manual is not real clear on the procedure though. I have a generic serial cable that I can modify and use if necessary. Thanks for pointing me to the fabrication articles. That will help some.

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by Eric »

Try running

Code: Select all

fconfig
instead of

Code: Select all

fconfig -l

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by ispyisail »

After i sent the post i thought about suggesting the other method. If it goes wrong you will need a serial connection.

I must try the command "fconfig -l"

This is the full config

Code: Select all

 RedBoot> fconfig

Code: Select all

 Run script at boot: true
Enter script, terminate with empty line

Code: Select all

 >> fis load -l linux
 >> exec
 >>

Code: Select all

 Boot script timeout (1000ms resolution): 10
 Use BOOTP for network configuration: false
 Gateway IP address:
 Local IP address: 192.168.1.1
 Local IP address mask: 255.255.255.0
 Default server IP address: <blank>
 Console baud rate: 9600
 GDB connection port: 9000
 Force console for special debug messages: false
 Network debug at boot time: false
 Update RedBoot non-volatile configuration - continue (y/n)? y
 ... Erase from 0xa87e0000-0xa87f0000: .
 ... Program from 0x80ff0000-0x81000000 at 0xa87e0000: .
 RedBoot>reset
Local IP address: 192.168.1.1 is the line you are interested in

lwrver
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by lwrver »

Thanks ispyisail,
I'm comfortable with other linux editors like "nano" and "vi", but I have no experience with command line editing. To avoid misinterpreting your instructions, could you please elaborate by providing a step-by-step procedure, to change the default IP in a device. I don't understand the sequence of events that must take place such as: How to open the file for edit, make the necessary changes, and save the changes, without corrupting the redboot kernel. I see references to terminating with a blank line, etc. but I don't understand the significance of this. The way I understand it the fconfig command will open the file for edit, but I don't understand specifically how to edit the data and make a clean exit to reboot the device with the changes. Thanks for your patience and assistance.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Procedure to Edit "Redboot"?

Post by ispyisail »

There is no files to edit like ROBIN

just type the commands in

Get into redboot then type this command

Code: Select all

fconfig
then keep typing......................etc

If it all goes wrong you can recover your device with a serial cable

Post Reply