1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by Lantis »

Some devices allow a RAM image (initramfs). I’m not sure about network boot. I think the WRT3200ACM supports it in uboot but I don’t know if you can use Openwrt with it.

Either way, both of these aren’t really options we can look at with Gargoyle to keep it user friendly and simple. We only produce initramfs if it is needed as the first step in flashing a full image.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nv2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by nv2k »

I'm testing this release with an Archer C7 v5 in Client + AP mode. I'm connected to the other router through the 5 GHz band.

The problem I have is that it's not broadcasting the local 5 GHz SSID. The 2.4 GHz local SSID is working perfectly.

Any ideas as to how can I troubleshoot it?

Thanks.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by Lantis »

What channel is the upstream and local APS on?
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nv2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by nv2k »

Lantis wrote:What channel is the upstream and local APS on?

First I tried with channel 52. Currently on channel 116.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by Lantis »

Those are both DFS channels, and that is most likely the issue.
Go less than 52 or more than 144.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nv2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by nv2k »

Lantis wrote:Those are both DFS channels, and that is most likely the issue.
Go less than 52 or more than 144.

Image
So only the first and last channels are recommended to use.

I'm going to try it on saturday and post back the results.

Thanks, Lantis.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5629
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by Lantis »

At 80MHz bandwidth, yes. With lower bandwidths the number of available channels increases obviously.

In some countries (and if the router supports it), DFS can be used just fine, with the caveat that it will constantly scan for radar interference and then vacate the channel if it finds any.
For most users, unless they are in the middle of nowhere, this usually means they are basically unusable.

It’s a big subject if you’re interested in reading more about DFS.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nv2k
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:37 pm

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by nv2k »

This is the other router:

Image

Now that I see, it's not even on the same channel as my C7 with Gargoyle. I don't know how's that possible.

I'm going to read more about DFS.

nibot
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:48 am

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by nibot »

How can i install the upnp? I need to turn on on my WR1043ND v2, but i can't find the package

danann
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:01 pm

Re: 1.11.x gargoyle-ispy 2018-December-11 17:59

Post by danann »

Dear ispyisail or Lantis,

any chance to get a build for this model:
openwrt <dot> org/toh/hwdata/tp-link/tp-link_archer_c6_v2_eu

It's a very affordable gigabit router with 128mb RAM, already supported by openWRT, and I happened to get one. Would be glad to test it out.

I'm just not sure about the size of the firmware flash memory. Openwrt lists it as 8MB, but another website says 64MB.

Thanks

Post Reply