Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
arampe
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:18 pm

Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by arampe »

I was running latest ddwrt fine no issues, wanted a taste of gargoyle.
so I ssh in and uploaded the factory.bin and did the mtd - r write ...
all i see now is the amber light blinking , i can not ping from any of the ports
i try to go into recovery mode, by holding down the reset button and wait for the amber to blink ,but still no dice , all LAN ports and Wan ports r dead ......no wifi , any help to recovery will be greatly happliy appreicated . tks

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by DoesItMatter »

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic ... #msg163599

See that thread

D-Links usually have an emergency recovery mode
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

encro
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:52 am
Location: au.victoria

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by encro »

Just reporting in that my DIR-835 router also bricked itself.
It occured on the 20th March 2015.

Running firmware 1.7.1
Modem stopped attempting to CHAP Authenticate in Bridged Mode. The Router was extremely hot.

Can no longer communicate to it via Ethernet or WiFi.
Tried a reset via the pin (10 Seconds).
Attempted Recovery Mode (Failed).
Still unable to communicate via Ethernet.
The computer thinks that nothing is attached to the LAN socket.
Netgear WNDR3700v4 - Gargoyle 1.12.x
D-Link DIR-835 - Gargoyle 1.7.1 (Deceased)
How to manually set up PIA's OpenVPN in Gargoyle (Private Internet Access): https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9129&p=45410#p45410

arampe
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by arampe »

DoesItMatter wrote:http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic ... #msg163599

See that thread

D-Links usually have an emergency recovery mode

Tried the recovery method but the ports are not alive , so I cannot ping any ip. I even put a switch between that way my PC can continuously ping for 192.168.0.1 but the router never gets reached .... Any other tricks?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by DoesItMatter »

arampe wrote:
DoesItMatter wrote:http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic ... #msg163599

See that thread

D-Links usually have an emergency recovery mode

Tried the recovery method but the ports are not alive , so I cannot ping any ip. I even put a switch between that way my PC can continuously ping for 192.168.0.1 but the router never gets reached .... Any other tricks?
When you are trying the recovery method - you manually set
the IP of your windows computer - correct?

You need to go into network settings and change your computer
to be an IP of 192.168.0.2 with netmask 255.255.255.0

Should not need to put a gateway IP in there.

If you are not doing that, you can't ever ping or connect to the
recovery IP of 192.168.0.1
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

arampe
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by arampe »

/\ Just like u said , but the LAN ports are dead, not pinagble ....this comes from flashing from 1.6 to 1.7 ....any more help please..

User avatar
dlogictech
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:50 pm
Location: Unionville, Ontario. Canada.
Contact:

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by dlogictech »

I currently have successfully flashed this exact router from ver. 1.6.2 to 1.7.1

If you some how have "bricked" your router you must follow the recover instructions on the dlink forum:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic ... #msg163599

which states:
Procedure for DIR series routers

Store a copy of the router firmware (.BIN) on the HDD of a local PC
Connect an Ethernet cable between one of the LAN ports on the rear of the router and the network port on the local PC
Configure the PC with a static IP address other than 192.168.0.1 (e.g. 192.168.0.5)
Power down the router and unplug the power cord
Press and hold the reset button on the rear of the router for 3 to 5 seconds and re-plug the power cord without releasing the reset button
Continue to hold the reset button until the amber power light keeps blinking on and off
Open a web browser and enter the following address: http://192.168.0.1/
Wait for the D-Link Router Recovery Mode page to load (See Exhibit 1 on the link provided)
Using the Choose File button, select the router firmware stored on the local PC and then press Upload
After the firmware successfully loads, a Success page will display
If the Success page fails to display, then repeat steps 3 through 9
D-Link DIR-835 Rev. A1 using Gargoyle
1.9.X (Built 20160524-1903 git@004a64c)

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ver. 1.6 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

TP-Link TL-WR740N Ver. 1.10 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

PavelK
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:25 am
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by PavelK »

Hi!
I discovered the same problem.
I bought a router Dir-835 with dead ports.
After a long search, was set reason of failure of.
Load-die voltage regulator Gigabit bridge.
High voltage destroys Gigabit bridge.
All LAN ports dead. Can work only wifi.
I managed to repair my router.
Replaced the regulator and Gigabit bridge.
The router has been running for more than 3 months normally.
For detailed information write to the PM.
Sorry for english.

taras-ua
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:30 am

Re: Dlink Dir-835 A1 - bricked ?

Post by taras-ua »

Hi @PavelK,
I've faced with the same chip overheating problem on the similar device D-Link DAP-1533. Could you share the information what you did to diminish VDD for ethernet switch chip.
Thank you in advance.

Post Reply