Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

cliff
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:36 am

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby cliff » Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:06 am

Hello, new to the Gargoyle Forum. I have successfully flashed my Netgear WNDR3700 v4 Router and what an AWESOME firmware, but unfortunately I had some issues about a week later maybe longer.
I tried to set a static ip address on one computer and I broke the whole network. I started to have duplicate IP address on that computer and one other computer, after hours of troubleshooting I changed routers and all is fine. Question: Do you recommend flashing the 1.9 branch on this router?

dandersen
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:22 am

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby dandersen » Fri Apr 29, 2016 8:04 pm

I got my new router today, and it's great... So I did some routing throughput testing (gigabit between lan and wan sides)...

Stock firmware
916/913

Gargoyle 1.9.0
899/753

Gargoyle 1.9.0 / QOS up and down set to 900 Mb
549/477

Very happy with this router and so happy to be with Gargoyle

meazz1
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Auburn, GA. USA

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby meazz1 » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:43 pm

dandersen wrote:I got my new router today, and it's great... So I did some routing throughput testing (gigabit between lan and wan sides)...

Stock firmware
916/913

Gargoyle 1.9.0
899/753

Gargoyle 1.9.0 / QOS up and down set to 900 Mb
549/477

Very happy with this router and so happy to be with Gargoyle


what kind of router is this?

GAChuck
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:22 am
Location: Atlanta, GA - USA

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby GAChuck » Mon May 02, 2016 10:00 am

Received an Archer C7 V.2 last week. Thanks to Lantis and help from Tapper and Drewis, I was able to get 1.9x up and running over the weekend, despite the problems with the new flash chip that is (apparently) in units manufactured since sometime last year, along with TCP's weird attempt to keep US models from being flashed with anything other than an "approved" bin
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 running 1.9.X

Peter
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 5:13 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Peter » Sun May 08, 2016 8:19 am

Hi all -

I bought a TP-Link Archer C7 v2 on Friday and have successfully loaded Gargoyle 1.90 onto it. No problems, followed the instructions and it just worked.

1) Downloaded the 1.9 factory firmware
2) Renamed it gargoyle190factory.bin
3) Used the TP-Link web interface to upload the new firmware

5 minutes later I was up and running: BIG thanks to those putting in long hours on this project, it's fantastic.

For the record, I was lucky in two areas:

1) My unit is has serial number: 215B493009447 - so earlier than the 215Cxxxxxxxxx serial numbers reported on the OpenWRT site as a problem. Apparently 215C* and later s/n have a new flash chip in them which is causing problems. You can see the note about that here: https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/ar ... c7-wdr7500 ; I don't know if it's still a problem but dodged that bullet.
2) My unit was loaded with firmware v2_150427, so not the US version build 151014 which people have reported problems with - apparently it attempts to prevent non-standard firmware being loaded.


Problems

I have found just one problem area: time restrictions for devices is not working. As soon as I add a time restriction for a device - whether I identify it by IP Address or MAC address - the device is always blocked, no matter what time ranges I put in. If I disable the rule, the device gets access again.

However, I have found a workaround - I created a rule restricting access to the device all day every day, then created an exception for the same device for the hours it should be open. That seems to be working.

Thanks again!

Peter

Aragorn_Strider
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:47 pm
Location: south of Paris area, France

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Aragorn_Strider » Thu May 26, 2016 6:10 am

Hi all,

I have 5 kids at home, including 3 teens who massively use wifi access with smartphones, laptops and ipod touch... :roll:

When googling the net few years ago, I've discovered the DD-WRT and OpenWrt solutions, but neither of them seemed able to answer my need : put quota on the kids internet access.

And this year, I discovered the Gargoyle solution, especially from the review of these websites :
- raisedbyturtles
- the-gadgeteer
- bikemike

[this allowed me to discover that in France we are really lucky to have ISP offers with unlimited data allowed, for only 30€ a month... on the contrary of countries like Australia, New-Zeland, Great-Britain and others...]

I bought a second-hand Netgear WNDR4300v1, for the comfortable amount of memory and the unbrickable feature (u-boot boot manager) it has.

I began to try the Gargoyle version 1.9.0 with many plugin (AdBlock, Spectrum analyzer, ping watchdog, webshell, logread, ...).
I tried it for two weeks with the Netgear used as a test router (the ISP router remaining the main home router) , but it was unstable, ie it restarts itself after a few hours of use.

Then I put the last stable version, the 1.8.1.
When I tried to restore the configuration previously backed up with 1.9.0, it results in a crash of the router (it resets just after the startup, in loop).
I tried PuTTY and WinSCP but I did'nt succeed in regaining control. No ping was available during bootmode.

Fortunately I succeeded to flash a firmware in failsafe mode, using TFTP and helped with the following :
- http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... e_recovery
- https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/wn ... lsafe_mode

It's now working with v1.8.1 since two months with no reset and I'm really happy with the features provided by this alternative firmware, with a lot of options and potential.

For now, I use Wifi schedule, NTP, OpenDNS, AdBlock, QoS (basic default settings) and Firewall restrictions features. I'm looking to use QoS with more accuracy rules for my gamer son.
I'm interested in the new features "Known devices & Devices groups" of the next version 1.9.x.
I will try to help to define specifications for a Time quota feature (described here and here), in which I'm very interested.

Thanks for your work to all the participants and developers of this great project !

I have few time to tests ispyisail new versions in development and I need to have a full operational router at home, but I can help to translate interface in French if needed (I've seen that lyrz did a great job here).

Frederic
Netgear WNDR4300v1 with Gargoyle v1.9.2 (formerly 1.8.1)

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby nworbnhoj » Fri May 27, 2016 3:18 pm

Great post - thankyou @Aragorn_Strider. Yes the initial experimental version 1.9.0 was sketchy - getting much closer now though with @ispyisail builds
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Cralis » Tue May 31, 2016 9:23 pm

Successful installation on a TL-WR1043ND V3 (1.9) using a firmware with a modified header.
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

munkeyjooce
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby munkeyjooce » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:45 pm

Successfully installed 1.8.1 on a Linksys WRT320N-AU using gargoyle_1.8.1-brcm47xx-generic-squashfs.trx. Wasn't sure if WRT300N or WRT350N specific firmware was suitable so went Broadcom generic.

Upgraded from DD-WRT and have had no real issues so far.

Scott
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:05 am

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Scott » Thu Sep 08, 2016 4:16 am

TP-LINK TL-WR710nV1

gargoyle_1.8.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr720n-v3-squashfs-factory.bin works well on it!


Return to “Hardware / Installation Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests