Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

meazz1
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Auburn, GA. USA

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby meazz1 » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:19 pm

I have 2 router running Gargoyle.
Long story short, I was looking for a cheap router to put in the garage to open door remotely with my phone.
I have an Asus RT-N16 and Asus AC-56U both running tomato for the main house.
So, I was doing my research on what to get for the garage for cheap and be able to install DD-WRT or Tomato. Somehow, I came across this forum and ended up getting a TP-WR841ND and installed Gargoyle 1.9.0.
It's been so real I went out and got me a TP-Link WR842ND also an it's running this fw as well. All this in 3 days.

Prior to knowing about Gargoyle, I always thought I needed a decent and not so cheap router to run 3rd party firmware. I was wrong.

Great stuff...keep up the good work.

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1064
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby tapper » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:36 am

meazz1 wrote:I have 2 router running Gargoyle.
Long story short, I was looking for a cheap router to put in the garage to open door remotely with my phone.
I have an Asus RT-N16 and Asus AC-56U both running tomato for the main house.
So, I was doing my research on what to get for the garage for cheap and be able to install DD-WRT or Tomato. Somehow, I came across this forum and ended up getting a TP-WR841ND and installed Gargoyle 1.9.0.
It's been so real I went out and got me a TP-Link WR842ND also an it's running this fw as well. All this in 3 days.

Prior to knowing about Gargoyle, I always thought I needed a decent and not so cheap router to run 3rd party firmware. I was wrong.

Great stuff...keep up the good work.



Hi dude are you using one of the Gargoyle routers to open the garage door? If so wood you mind doing a small rite up on how you did it for the wiki? One of the things that makes Gargoyle so good is the forum and the docks. Glad you are liking Gargoyle BTW.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

meazz1
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:40 pm
Location: Auburn, GA. USA

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby meazz1 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:56 am

It's a dedicated router in the garage that interacts with MYQ hub and MYQ Internet Gateway which can be programmed into using the propitiatory technology put out my Chamberlain for using with it's mobile app to see if the door is closed or open, can be opened or closed from anywhere you have internet connection, etc.
Since, both hub and gateway need wifi and hardwired connection, I decided to run a cat6e from my upstairs main switch into the garage.
I wanted this route to only used from this purpose.

Therefore, I don't think it's to any value for anyone if I do a write up.

mgoo
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:00 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby mgoo » Fri Dec 25, 2015 3:11 pm

I installed it on this router Netgear WNDRMACv2 using
1.6.x , 1.7.x and 1.9.x of the gargoyle firmware.

WNDRMACv2 has identical hardware internals to WNDR3800, 16MB flash and 128MB ram.

-mgoo

User avatar
dlogictech
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:50 pm
Location: Unionville, Ontario. Canada.
Contact:

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby dlogictech » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:00 am

I installed it on this router D-Link DIR-835 rev. A1 using
this version of the firmware 1.9.X (Built 20151228-2140 git@b93d5e4)

I installed it on this router TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ver. 1.6 using
this version of the firmware 1.9.X (Built 20151228-2140 git@b93d5e4)

I installed it on this router TP-Link TL-WR740N Ver. 1.10 using
this version of the firmware 1.9.X (Built 20151228-2140 git@b93d5e4)
D-Link DIR-835 Rev. A1 using Gargoyle
1.9.X (Built 20160524-1903 git@004a64c)

TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Ver. 1.6 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

TP-Link TL-WR740N Ver. 1.10 using Gargoyle
1.9.1

brijenjas
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:50 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby brijenjas » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:28 pm

Device Name:Gargoyle
Gargoyle Version:1.9.0
Model:TP-Link Archer C7 v2
Device Configuration:Gateway

User avatar
governa
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby governa » Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:04 pm

Upgraded D-Link DIR-505E A2 from Gargoyle 1.8.1 to 1.9.0. Didn't attempt to preserve settings, as instructed.

All's working fine and looking normal.

HTML5 interface is a huge step forward for those of us using Safari on both iOS and OSX. No more 'too many redirects' error.

Thumbs up!
• 2x DIR-825 B1/B2 DD-WRT r30631 • 1x DIR-825 C1 OpenWRT 15.05.1
• 4x DIR-615 D2/D4 DD-WRT r30385 • 2x DIR-505E A2 Gargoyle 1.9.1
• Cisco EPC3928S stock • Hitron BVW3653 stock • CellPipe 7130 stock
• 3COM 3CR29220 stock • Sagemcom 5310 'FunBox' stock

chainu127
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby chainu127 » Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:36 pm

Successfully flashed to Linksys e2000.
Build here:
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7861#p33476

Could not flash via the stock Linksys firmware upgrade page. Tried Firefox and IE11- fails at 90%.

I first flashed the DD-WRT 14929 E2000 Trailed Initial Flash Build following these directions:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_E2000#Flashing_instructions_for_the_E2000

After this flash was complete, I flashed Lantis' Gargoyle file above from the DD-WRT firmware upgrade page.

Working well so far, with these notes:
uPNP seems to be disabled, despite the router having 8MB flash
Can't seem to get wireless N speeds enabled through GUI. Need to investigate if this is possible through CLI, or I am not testing correctly.
Keys for opkg seem to be for incorrect architecture, causing opkg update to fail signature check. Files in /etc/opkg/keys should be removed and replaced with a file 'de98a2dd1d0f8a07' with the contents from here:
https://dev.openwrt.org/browser/branches/chaos_calmer/package/base-files/files/etc/opkg/keys/de98a2dd1d0f8a07?rev=46002

Thanks for the build, Lantis!

~Chainu

Patacakes
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Patacakes » Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:13 pm

Flashed Gargoyle on
TL-WR1043ND-V3
S/W 3.16.9 Build 150514 Rel.72381n right from the Web interface.

Using Oviano's Firmware files. (Changed name to Gargyole-factory.bin)
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... 176#p34379

Mloki
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 5:33 pm

Re: Successfully flashed a router? Tell Us!

Postby Mloki » Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:48 am

I got my hands on a cheap Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH (B0 B0) running a Buffalo Firmware, and installed

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/downloads/images/ar71xx/gargoyle_1.9.0-ar71xx-generic-wzr-hp-g300nh-squashfs-factory.bin

on it.

I reset and connected the WZR on WAN and LAN, so I could access the Buffalo webinterface (username : root / no password). There I uploaded the new Firmware from Harddisk.
After a few minutes the Process was done, and the DIAG LED was inactive again, when I reset the WZR.

It seems to be kinda lazy at reconnecting the WAN connection after I saved settings and rebooted the router. After un- and replugging the WAN cabke it seems to run fine so far.

Edit : Ping Watchdog helps here by resetting the WAN connection.

I have access to the whole Gargoyle menue, installed Plugins and configured the Network as usual, everything seems to be fine.
Netgear WNDR3800 running Gargoyle 1.6.2
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH (B0 B0) running Gargoyle 1.9.0


Return to “Hardware / Installation Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests