Hardware Identification Help

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
na5m
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:46 am

Hardware Identification Help

Post by na5m »

I'm interested in trying Gargoyle, but according to the install documentation for my router ( wzr-hp-ag300h ),

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/doku.php?id=buffalo_wzr-hp-g300nh

I may have either rtl8366rb or the older rtl8366s. I telnet-ed into my router and ran dmesg to ensure gargoyle would be compatible with my router, but not a single message relating to any realtek hardware appeared.

Is there a special utility I can use to identify which Realtek switch controller chip I have?

PS- I actually dismantled my unit so that I could see first hand what chips were attached to the PCB. I found only 5 large sized chips. 4 were Atheros chips, and the 5th was a Hynix chip ( a memory chip, I'd imagine).

Please see:

http://s1122.photobucket.com/user/na5m/media/Mobile%20Uploads/gargoyle_zps9eb8dc36.jpg.html

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Hardware Identification Help

Post by tapper »

hi mate i see this at the top of the page for your router

"NOTE: More recent versions of the WZR-HP-G300NH have had a hardware change without bumping the revision number or changing the hardware label. The newer
hardware appears to have the rtl8366rb Ethernet switch while older hardware had the rtl8366s switch. As a result, this newer hardware is NOT supported
by OpenWrt 'Backfire' 10.03.1-RC5 but it is supported in OpenWrt trunk since at least r28133"

new Gargoyle is based from Attitude Adjustment branch of openwrt so
i think you will be ok with the latest
Gargoyle.
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/buffalo/wzr-hp-ag300h
More here to
http://blog.philippklaus.de/2011/07/buf ... hp-ag300h/

happy flashing.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

na5m
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:46 am

Re: Hardware Identification Help

Post by na5m »

Thanks, tapper.
Your reply makes me feel a bit more secure.
So, I'm gunna toss the dice & do the install.
Sure would be nice, however, to be able to view my
router's hardware specs, tho :)

A good, old-fashioned Jack Daniel's cheers to ya from (a-not-so-sunny-right-now) California!!!

na5m

Post Reply