Advice setting up a wireless repeater

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

mistamojo

Advice setting up a wireless repeater

Post by mistamojo »

Hey guys,

I have been using the gargoyle router software for over 2 years and I can't say thank you enough. I am currently running a wireless network on a Linksys WRT54GL which is capped to using the 1.3.9 firmware. The network has a large number of users on it (10 or so) and because my studio flat is located out the back from the main house, some users are complaining of the wireless signal strength at various places within the main house.

I know I could just move the router up and into the main house but prefer to have it close by in case I need to hard reset it or monitor it physically. So I'd like to purchase a newer router with some RAM and flash memory so I could upgrade to a later version of the firmware, and use the existing router as a repeater. So, my question is: which router would work best in this set up? SHould I stay using broadcom chipsets? And would it matter if the repeater router was on an earlier version of gargoyle? (eg. main router on latest firmware, repeater on 1.3.9). I've been looking at some of the TP link routers, but wanted to get a bit more info before I spent any money. Looking to spend around 100 bucks (aus) is fine).

Thanks in advance, and thanks to Eric and his team for creating such a good solution for everyone.

bardu

Re: Advice setting up a wireless repeater

Post by bardu »

You will lose half of the wireless bandwidth using WRT54GL as a repeater.
Your first option to expand the wireless coverage should be WDS (very hard to accomplish with non identical units) or ethernet powerline adapters + access points/routers.
TP-LINK solutions are the cheapest available.
You can use
http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/deta ... L-WR1043ND
as "master" gateway, use one of the powerline adapters (at least one pair)