WRT1200AC soft bricked

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Flak
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:21 am

WRT1200AC soft bricked

Post by Flak »

Can anyone point me to or give me directions on how to do a clean install through putty? At some point it seems luci got corrupt and it keeps causing issues with Gargoyle. I can't sign in via the gui and have to put it in recovery/failsafe mode. Doing that I can sign in through Putty. Is there a way to remove everything and then install Gargoyle on that as a clean slate?


Thanks,
Flak

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4809
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: WRT1200AC soft bricked

Post by ispyisail »


Flak
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:21 am

Re: WRT1200AC soft bricked

Post by Flak »

Does this command erase everything so it starts fresh and I just install the firmware via putty?

umount /overlay && jffs2reset && reboot now

RomanHK
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: WRT1200AC soft bricked

Post by RomanHK »

Commands via ssh (PuTTY) to flash Gargoyle (1.11.0) firmware:

If you flash from Linksys Firmware, use the Web interface and use this file: http://www.gargoyle-router.com/download ... actory.img

If you already have OpenWrt or Gargoyle:

Code: Select all

wget http://www.gargoyle-router.com/downloads/images/mvebu/gargoyle_1.11.0-mvebu-cortexa9-linksys-wrt1200ac-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin -P /tmp/
sysupgrade -n -v /tmp/gargoyle_1.11.0-mvebu-cortexa9-linksys-wrt1200ac-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

EDIT:
If you only want to reset to the default configuration (forgotten password, wrong configuration, ...), just go to "Failsafe Mode" and delete the entire configuration, first try "Soft Factory Reset" and if it does not help "Hard Factory Reset" .
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

Post Reply