TP-Link Archer C7 v5 SSID disappears

Report problems and success stories with Gargoyle on various hardware platforms.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
playdoh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 4:51 pm

TP-Link Archer C7 v5 SSID disappears

Post by playdoh »

I bought a Tp-Lijnk Archer C7 v5 router refurbished on Amazon. I flashed it with gargoyle_1.12.0-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v5-squashfs-factory.bin and configured it as a wireless repeater. It seems to work fine. But approximately 2 days later, my devices that connect to the repeater wirelessly lose the connection and the SSID disappears/is gone. The computers that are hooked up to it via the lan ports are still running fine though. Rebooting doesn't fix it. I flashed back to the original TP-Link firmware and wireless was working again. So I did a system reset on the router and put Gargoyle 1.12 back on there again, did another reset and configured it it as a wireless repeater again. I also had it reboot every morning. 3 days later, same thing happened. All my wireless devices lose connections and the SSID disappears. Computers that are connected to the repeater via the lan ports are still working fine. Did anyone have a similar issue? Any suggestions on what I should do?

playdoh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 4:51 pm

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 v5 SSID disappears

Post by playdoh »

Okay, I was able to get wireless working by disabling the repeater and then reenabling it. I would still like to know what is causing this behavior and how I could fix it?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6026
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 v5 SSID disappears

Post by Lantis »

What channel is the upstream network set to?

When you say that the devices connected by LAN still work, can they still reach the internet? Or just each other?
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

playdoh
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 03, 2021 4:51 pm

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 v5 SSID disappears

Post by playdoh »

Lantis wrote:
Wed May 05, 2021 6:11 pm
What channel is the upstream network set to?

When you say that the devices connected by LAN still work, can they still reach the internet? Or just each other?
It's set on 36. The devices that are connected to the c7 via the lan ports are connected to the internet meaning the c7 is still connected to the main router. It's weird that the c7 stops broadcasting wirelessly.

Post Reply