Support for TP-LINK C7R Archer TL-WDR7500

Discuss the technical details of Gargoyle and ongoing development

Moderator: Moderators

jayt
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:44 pm

Support for TP-LINK C7R Archer TL-WDR7500

Postby jayt » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:02 am

Support for TP-LINK C7R Archer TL-WDR7500

I'm currently located in Shenzhen China so I'm limited to what is available here. I could try to order the C7 v2 from newegg and have it shipped but you never know if something is going to get held. There is a seller on AliExpress that is selling the Chinese version of the C7 Archer v2 but with 6 external antennas,
According to the openwrt table of hardware it uses the QCA9880-BR4A (v2). Same as the C7 Archer v2 but less flash - 8MB vs 16MB and the same amount of RAM - 128MB.

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wdr7500
It also states, Barrier Breaker is (Not available officially)

TP-Link TL-WDR7500 v3 Openwrt pre-installed.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Brazil-R ... 1.html?s=p

I contacted the seller and asked if he could try to install gargoyle. His response was "we can't login in the boot".

Is there anything I could pass along to him to assist in getting the firmware installed or give him some helpful information.

Thanks.
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH 1.9.0

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Support for TP-LINK C7R Archer TL-WDR7500

Postby nworbnhoj » Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:29 am

Reset the router to default using the manufacturers procedure then standard install of Gargoyle.

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... tall_guide
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Support for TP-LINK C7R Archer TL-WDR7500

Postby DoesItMatter » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:29 pm

Anytime you are messing around with routers and flashing
third-party firmware, the #1 thing you need to find out is if
there is Serial port access to the router.

No matter how much you botch it up, 99% of the time you can
recover via serial recovery and re-flash the original firmware.

BUT

1) you need to have a factory default firmware image as a backup
2) you need to figure out how to connect via serial

If you can't do 1 & 2, and the router is not well known, you either
wait for more people to play around with it, or shop for a different one.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400


Return to “Gargoyle Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 8 guests