DynDNS Update does not work anymore (dyn.com)

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
deepblue2000
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:28 pm

DynDNS Update does not work anymore (dyn.com)

Post by deepblue2000 »

hi,

I have noticed, that "Dynamic DNS" Service is not working
anymore with "DynDNS".

When I click force update is shows: "NaN/NaN NaN:NaN:NaN"


Log: "remote IP cannot be determined"

in the readlog:

Code: Select all

Sat Dec  5 11:23:00 2015 authpriv.info dropbear[4044]: Child connection from 192.168.1.5:51242
Sat Dec  5 11:23:10 2015 authpriv.notice dropbear[4044]: Password auth succeeded for 'root' from 192.168.1.5:51242
Sat Dec  5 11:24:54 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]: Forcing update:
Sat Dec  5 11:24:54 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:       service provider=dyndns.com
Sat Dec  5 11:24:54 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:       domain=xxxxxx.dyndns.tv
Sat Dec  5 11:24:55 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:               Successfully retrieved local ip from url: http://www.tracemyip.org
Sat Dec  5 11:24:55 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:       local IP  = xx.xx.xx.xx
Sat Dec  5 11:24:55 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:       remote IP cannot be determined
Sat Dec  5 11:24:56 2015 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4000]:       Update failed


Using Gargoyle 1.8.1

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: DynDNS Update does not work anymore (dyn.com)

Post by ispyisail »

does DynDNS say anything about setting changes on there web site?

I assume a change on there end?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5727
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: DynDNS Update does not work anymore (dyn.com)

Post by Lantis »

Not that I can see. I meant to look into this but forgot. Added to my list now.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5727
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: DynDNS Update does not work anymore (dyn.com)

Post by Lantis »

looked into this for you.
i made it work successfully on numerous attempts.

Are you sure you have entered all of your details correctly?
Also it can temporarily ban attempts to update the ip address if they happen too quickly. Kind of like a spam protection. This locked me out a few times when testing. Maybe this is happening to you also?


No changes on the back end from dyndns.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply