[SOLVED] Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

[SOLVED] Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

Damn!

I just installed gargoyle on a new TP Link WR1043ND. It rebooted into Gargoyle, I logged on as admin, changed password etc.

Instead of re-entering all my channel settings, static ip's etc I thought I'd apply the settings from WRT54GL. Dumb move it seems. Gargoyle gave the message that the settings were successfully applied and that was that. I can't connect anymore (using web interface and 192.168.1.1). I've tried hard resetting the router by holding in the reset button, but the thing doesn't reboot or reset.

My WRT54GL is running 1.3.10. On the TP Link I installed gargoyle_1.3.14-ar71xx-tl-wr1043nd-v1-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin.

It doesn't respond to pings on 192.168.1.1.

Have I bricked the thing or is there any way of getting back to a working router?

Any help much appreciated.
Last edited by belbo on Sun May 29, 2011 8:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

foreverstorm
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:17 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by foreverstorm »

I had something similar happen to me when I restored settings from a previous version of Gargoyle on an Asus WL-500g V2 to a newer version of Gargoyle. But I think I fixed it through flashing a new firmware on through telnet but I'm not quite sure.

belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

OK. I now have found a way to get it to respond to a ping, using the 'repeatedly pressing the qss button' method from this thread.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1583722

Any advice on recovering it now ?

foreverstorm
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:17 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by foreverstorm »

Install PuTTY and go to your routers IP and login as "root" and then whatever your usual password is and see if you have access

belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

Thanks foreverstorm. Didn't see your post before.

I don't seem to be able to telnet.

When I try telnetting I get -

telnet 192.168.1.1
Trying 192.168.1.1...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused

:cry:

belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

OK. Good news. I now have telnet access. I had to specify port 23. It looks like I may be getting somewhere now. Further help will be much appreciated. -

telnet 192.168.1.1 23
Trying 192.168.1.1...
Connected to 192.168.1.1.
Escape character is '^]'.

=== IMPORTANT ============================
Use 'passwd' to set your login password
this will disable telnet and enable SSH
------------------------------------------


BusyBox v1.15.3 (2011-05-07 17:48:26 EDT) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

_______ ________ __
| |.-----.-----.-----.| | | |.----.| |_
| - || _ | -__| || | | || _|| _|
|_______|| __|_____|__|__||________||__| |____|
|__| W I R E L E S S F R E E D O M
Backfire (10.03.1-RC5, unknown) --------------------------
* 1/3 shot Kahlua In a shot glass, layer Kahlua
* 1/3 shot Bailey's on the bottom, then Bailey's,
* 1/3 shot Vodka then Vodka.
---------------------------------------------------
root@(none):/#

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by pbix »

Try "mtd -r erase rootfs_data"

Should erase all the settings you made and bring you back to the default.
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

Re: Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

Beautiful. That did it. Whew! Sigh of relief. Thanks so much for all the help.

doritos
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon May 02, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by doritos »

Remember to not restore settings from different hardware. All the chip-related features (switch ports for example) depends on the hardware model and will cause such behaviour

belbo
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Bricked router restoring incompatible settings ?

Post by belbo »

May I suggest putting a warning about this on the "restore configuration" page of the interface?

Post Reply