checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

Rog66
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by Rog66 »

it was a coincidence :D - just checked back through the syslogs and I've obviously been very lucky whenever I've tried to connect to home - will make the same mod !

RomanHK
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by RomanHK »

Guys, I'm just human, so sorry for any trouble :oops: - post edited: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12011#p53270
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

User avatar
sloniupl
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:03 pm

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by sloniupl »

RomanHK wrote:Guys, I'm just human, so sorry for any trouble :oops: - post edited: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12011#p53270


No problem at all, you fixed the issue for me and the first fix also works :D

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5724
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by Lantis »

The site appears to be giving legitimate results again, however for me it is no longer giving an ipv4 address. Instead some kind of hostname.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

RomanHK
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by RomanHK »

For a while it is a faulty IP, sometimes a faulty DNS, sometimes a proper DNS. It behaves differently every now and then.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

RomanHK
Posts: 668
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by RomanHK »

As a test, I changed the site from .com to .org (https://checkmyip.org/) an interesting result - also faulty :shock: .
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

rseiler
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:31 am

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by rseiler »

RomanHK wrote:EDIT4: There was one more thing I thought. Why suggest an IP address when I can suggest a local domain - it might be better.

Edit /etc/dnsmasq.conf and add a line:
[code]
local=/checkmyip.com/

Brilliant. I'm going to try that for aruljohn.com, which has been returning a non-routable(!) IP (10.20.10.22) instead of the real one, which hadn't even changed.

This is likely not a new issue, since today is the first day I've been using DDNS on 1.12, which uses "https://aruljohn.com" (among many others, of course, but this is the only one triggering a wrong IP so far).

1.10, which this router had been on, used "http://aruljohn.com," which should redirect but always errored out with "Could not determine local ip from url." So, the problem was avoided back then by not being able to reach the site for whatever reason. It succeeded by failing. But now that it can reach the site, it's a problem.

Kurze
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:13 am

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by Kurze »

I also just encountered the issue with aruljohn.com. The next check then corrected the problem.

Code: Select all

Mon Feb  3 22:24:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]: Checking whether update needed:
Mon Feb  3 22:24:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    service provider=domains.google.com
Mon Feb  3 22:24:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    domain=thexxxxxxx.com
Mon Feb  3 22:24:13 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:       Could not determine local ip from url: http://checkip.org
Mon Feb  3 22:24:13 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:       Successfully retrieved local ip from url: https://aruljohn.com
Mon Feb  3 22:24:13 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    local IP  = 10.20.10.22
Mon Feb  3 22:24:13 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    remote IP = 173.xx.xxx.xxx
Mon Feb  3 22:24:15 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    Update successful

Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]: Checking whether update needed:
Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    service provider=domains.google.com
Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    domain=thexxxxxxx.com
Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:       Successfully retrieved local ip from url: http://www.lawrencegoetz.com/programs/ipinfo/
Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    local IP  = 173.xx.xxx.xxx
Mon Feb  3 22:40:07 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    remote IP = 10.20.10.22
Mon Feb  3 22:40:08 2020 daemon.info ddns_gargoyle[4132]:    Update successful


When visiting the site in a browser it shows the correct IP address, however when viewing source it shows:

Code: Select all

<h1>Your IP Address is <span id="ip">10.20.10.22</span></h1>


Haven't used Gargoyle for a while, this is on a fresh install of 1.12.0
Linksys WRT1900ACSv1 - Gargoyle 1.12.0

rseiler
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:31 am

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by rseiler »

I wouldn't say corrected, necessarily -- it may just be hit and miss. No harm in effectively editing it out, since there are many others, and it's impractical to be monitoring it.

cr1cr1
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:15 am
Location: France

Re: checkmyip.com causing ddns plugin to update wrong IP

Post by cr1cr1 »

Hi mates,
Since I've upgraded from V1.6.0 to V1.12.0 my WNDR3700v2, I'm having exactly the same issue with aruljohn.com someting responding withe the same wrong IP:

Code: Select all

remote IP = 10.20.10.22
I also have remarked that the aruljohn.com source page shows the 10.20.10.22 IP address. And when I refresh the page, it very quickly shows this address before displaying the correct one.

It worked perfectly well with V1.6.0.

As a workaround, I'm using my ISP provider box dynDNS feature than works now with my DynDNS service.

Post Reply