USB Mount Errors

If your problem doesn't fall into one of the other categories, report it here.

Moderator: Moderators

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

USB Mount Errors

Post by pbix »

I am using the USB mount feature for the first time and having an issue.

The command I used on my Linux box is below and returned no message.

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t cifs -o username=paul,password=*******,domain=WORKGROUP //192.168.2.1/share_1 ~/route
The mount command returns this.

Code: Select all

[//192.168.2.1/share_1 on /home/paul/router type cifs (rw,relatime,vers=1.0,cache=strict,username=paul,domain=WORKGROUP,uid=0,noforceuid,gid=0,noforcegid,addr=192.168.2.1,unix,posixpaths,serverino,mapposix,acl,rsize=1048576,wsize=1048576,actimeo=1)
But an attempt to copy to the mount point give an error.

Code: Select all

paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $ sudo cp post.pdf router
[sudo] password for paul: 
cp: cannot create regular file 'router/post.pdf': Permission denied
paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $ ls -l router
total 0
drwx------ 2 root root 0 Feb 27 20:06 lost+found
paul@paul-HP-xw4400-Workstation ~ $ 
I would attach a screenshot of what I see on the router but an attempt to upload it gave the forum message "board quote full". But in summary the mount is shown with one user "paul" with R/W access displayed.

If there are some ideas out there I would love to hear them.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by ispyisail »

I would attach a screenshot of what I see on the router but an attempt to upload it gave the forum message "board quote full"
Use an external source

I use "Greenshot" with "http://imgur.com/"

then paste

Code: Select all

[img]https://i.imgur.com/t63ZyU4.png[/img]
Image

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by ispyisail »

What version are you using?

Fix around here

https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... 27a3957238

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by pbix »

Well here is the screen shot but why is our forum quota full?

Image

The version I am using is v1.9.1
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by ispyisail »

That fix is in 1.9.2

Screen shots have been like that forever

saves Eric some money I guess

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by pbix »

What is fixed in v1.9.2? I do not see anything in the release notes about this issue. Are we saying that mounting was not possible at all before v1.9.2?
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by Lantis »

No issue on my end.
Do not think this is related (or fixed) in 1.9.2.

Happy to compare configs if you like?

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t cifs -o username=User,password=Meerkat,domain=WORKGROUP //192.168.1.1/UserMedia ~/tester

Code: Select all

//192.168.1.1/UserMedia on /home/michael/tester type cifs (rw,relatime,vers=1.0,cache=strict,username=User,domain=WORKGROUP,uid=0,noforceuid,gid=0,noforcegid,addr=192.168.1.1,unix,posixpaths,serverino,mapposix,acl,rsize=1048576,wsize=1048576,actimeo=1)

Code: Select all

ls tester
_minidlna  New folder    System Volume Information
Stuff     $RECYCLE.BIN  More_Stuff

sudo cp ~/130-rfkillarcher.patch tester

ls tester
130-rfkillarcher.patch  Stuff      $RECYCLE.BIN               More_Stuff
_minidlna               New folder  System Volume Information

Code: Select all

rm tester/130-rfkillarcher.patch

ls tester
_minidlna  New folder    System Volume Information
Stuff     $RECYCLE.BIN  More_Stuff
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1373
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by pbix »

The only difference I see is that your mounted drive has no "lost+found" like mine does and instead has other files there by default.

In my case I only get the change to mount my USB drive if I format it first. This seems strange to me. Do you get this behavior? The screen says "no mounted USB disks detected" and only the format dialog appears. Once formatted the drive mounts and I am given the change to create shares for it.

I continue to poke at it.
Linksys WRT1900ACv2
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by Lantis »

No don't see that at all. Haven't formatted it in years.
It is NTFS by the way in case that is another difference.

I do occasionally manually restart the USB service because of a DLNA issue.
The page says that there is no mounted USB (because I unmounted it).
If you replug the device or /etc/init.d/usb_storage restart it fires back to life.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: USB Mount Errors

Post by ispyisail »

What is the drive size?

There was a size limit at one stage?

Post Reply