TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
mentos265
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:31 am

TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by mentos265 »

So TL-WR841ND v3-9 are supported but v10 isnt?
Any information on that? Can I use the firmware from v9?

It is supported by openWrt tough.
https://wiki.openwrt.org/de/toh/tp-link/tl-wr841nd

Thx

schnurlos
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:50 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by schnurlos »

Have a look on the Download section:
gargoyle_1.9.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841n-v10-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
gargoyle_1.9.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841n-v10-squashfs-factory.bin
So with 1.9.1 the V10 of the TP-Link TL-WR841ND is supported :D

mentos265
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:31 am

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by mentos265 »

schnurlos wrote:Have a look on the Download section:
gargoyle_1.9.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841n-v10-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
gargoyle_1.9.1-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr841n-v10-squashfs-factory.bin
So with 1.9.1 the V10 of the TP-Link TL-WR841ND is supported :D
But its not wr81nD tough. Does it make any difference? I dont want to brick my router :o

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by Lantis »

They are the same internally.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

mentos265
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:31 am

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by mentos265 »

Thx I now have gargoyle on my router.
Image
The reason I switched to Gargoyle is the following:
I would like to limit the bandwidth for all clients that connect to this router.

Now my TL-WR841ND is set as a AP and connects to the router of my provider Image

Setting quotas seems to have no effect. The download speed seems to drop form 11 mbps to 5-8 mbps even tough I limited the bandwidth to 200 kbytes/s. The upload speed seems not to change at all.

I have set the quota for the entire local network, and for all induvidual hosts and host without explicit quota. that does not change anything

I have Dhcp disabled if that matters Image

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by Lantis »

Can you please share your quotas settings with another screenshot

Please capture the edit dialog of the quota to get the full details
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

mentos265
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:31 am

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by mentos265 »

Lantis wrote:Can you please share your quotas settings with another screenshot

Please capture the edit dialog of the quota to get the full details
Here is it:

Image

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by Lantis »

My only suggestion is to try throttling the bandwidth using QOS instead.

Set up a QOS class for slow traffic with the limit you want imposed.
Then on the quota, change the throttle bandwidth to drop the traffic into the slow QOS class.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

danymarc
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by danymarc »

@lantis he posted this
Now my TL-WR841ND is set as a AP and connects to the router of my provider
Doesn't have to be Router mode not AP

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5977
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link TL-WR841ND v10 ?

Post by Lantis »

Pictures 1 and 2 show gateway mode which is correct assuming the devices are physically connected together correctly
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply