WNDR3700v2 what firmware

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

mates
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:53 am

WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby mates » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:04 am

Hi

i am new here and quite confused

1) I would like to ask which firmware is for me

Location: Czech republic
HW: Netgear WNDR3700v2 - actualy I have 1.0.0.12 firmware

gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory-NA.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

2) Is this all what I need only upload this img to router via administration?

3) It is possible to go back to original firmware without problems?

4) is this firmware better than original from netgear (means no wifi dopouts and so on)?

User avatar
Urgje
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby Urgje » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:21 am

mates wrote:Hi

i am new here and quite confused

1) I would like to ask which firmware is for me

Location: Czech republic
HW: Netgear WNDR3700v2 - actualy I have 1.0.0.12 firmware

gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory-NA.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

2) Is this all what I need only upload this img to router via administration?

3) It is possible to go back to original firmware without problems?

4) is this firmware better than original from netgear (means no wifi dopouts and so on)?


Hi.

Answering your question for you as best I can, I will begin to say that I'm using a WNDR3700v2 myself and am very glad I moved to the Gargoyle firmware!

1) You will need only
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory.img

2) You need to have a cabled connection to your router for flashing the Gargoyle firmware.

3) Yes you can without problems. But I'm pretty sure you never will want to. ;-)

4) The Gargoyle firmware is much, much better. More stable, easier and more intuitive in use, and personally I got a much stronger and finally stable wireless signal, where the original firmware was so crappy that I almost gave up on this router.

Give it a try and I'm pretty sure you will love it!
Urgje (Netgear WNDR3700v2 / Gargoyle 1.4.7)
[my ego shrank while growing up]

mates
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:53 am

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby mates » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:34 am

Yes thank you I will try later today

but i have another questio
is here working WoL functionality?

becauase on oficial firmware I turned on by passing this 3 steps


Code: Select all

telnetEnable.exe 192.168.1.1 E091F5CCD2D4 Gearguy Geardog
telnet 192.168.1.1
ip neigh add 192.168.1.254 lladdr ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff nud permanent dev br0


is here better way how to turn on WoL?

thank you for replying

User avatar
Urgje
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby Urgje » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:40 am

Wakeup on LAN is easily reached within the Gargoyle interface; under Connection (the second menu item from above) you will find Wake on LAN as last menu option. Works like a charm.
Urgje (Netgear WNDR3700v2 / Gargoyle 1.4.7)
[my ego shrank while growing up]

rushino
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:31 pm

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby rushino » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:02 am

mates wrote:Hi

i am new here and quite confused

1) I would like to ask which firmware is for me

Location: Czech republic
HW: Netgear WNDR3700v2 - actualy I have 1.0.0.12 firmware

gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-factory-NA.img
gargoyle_1.5.0-ar71xx-wndr3700v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin

2) Is this all what I need only upload this img to router via administration?

3) It is possible to go back to original firmware without problems?

4) is this firmware better than original from netgear (means no wifi dopouts and so on)?


Just want to comment the point 3.. trust me as Urhje said you won't come back lol

mates
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:53 am

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby mates » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:11 pm

hi

it works well

thank you

LOCOSP
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby LOCOSP » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:46 pm

Hi, can any one tell me how to go back to original firmware,
I have WNDR3700v2 with Gargoyle but pritty sure want go back...

thak You in advance ...

frank604
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:01 am

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby frank604 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:49 am

LOCOSP wrote:Hi, can any one tell me how to go back to original firmware,
I have WNDR3700v2 with Gargoyle but pritty sure want go back...

thak You in advance ...


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=79802

Follow the directions. Read everything. I got it to work in 1 try with my wndr3700v2. As a side question, why revert to stock?

LOCOSP
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby LOCOSP » Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:15 pm

As a side question, why revert to stock?

For some reasons i became little economic an envirement frendly so i want back an abillitie to one button wifi off, and 2nd thing is it's not possible to turn ON for example only 5GHz and keep turned OFF the 2,4GHz , it's only all or none.

Sorry 4 my english , spoken is better ( no ort and grammar issues ;)

Thanks 4 Ur reply and take care


P.S. Waiting for Tomato, had on wrt54gl it was great....

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4590
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: WNDR3700v2 what firmware

Postby ispyisail » Sun Dec 25, 2011 7:29 pm

http://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/wifitoggle

as a guess

SSH into your router

Code: Select all

opkg update
opkg install wifitoggle


Now, every time you want to turn the wireless on or off, you can press the button on the router, or you can issue a woggle command from the OpenWrt shell.

Have not tested this myself, only theory


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests