2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
balange
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 12:04 pm

2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by balange »

Hi!
I have 2 routers, Linksys wrt54gl and tp-link wr941nd, both with gargoyle. The linksys is configured as an AP, the linksys as bridge/repeater client. A pc is connected to Linksys with cable. Ping from PC to tp-link(192.168.1.1 and to my wan ip) via linksys(192.168.1.100) works great, but to the internet NOT. From linksys to internet works everything.
Can somebody help!?
I think it could be a routing problem? I may need sg extra config beside gargoyle?

Topology:
my wan IP<>Internet <---> Tp-link <---wifi---> Linksys <---cable---> PC

THX

fi5ban
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:44 am

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by fi5ban »

do you have the gateways setup correct pointing to the AP on the pc and on the bridge??

balange
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by balange »

hi!
Yes, both of them point to 192.168.1.1, but i treid to set the pc gateway to the gateway's ip.
As I wrote from both of the router can i reach the internet, but from pc via the bridge not.

behappy
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by behappy »

From either pc or router trying follow
nslookup google.com

The output lets you know where is there the probl.?
I believe yr probl. is dns is wrong set somehow.

balange
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by balange »

Image
Click for bigger view

So the problem is that i can not reach the internet from the pc connected to wireless bridge, but pc ping to my network (192.168.1.x) works.
From other devices works the internet. I tried to ping yahoo.com.

Gary.M
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 4:13 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by Gary.M »

Here is my bridge config. The only difference to yours is my pc connects to the bridge wirelessly.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/942784/bridge.jpg

balange
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 12:04 pm

Re: 2 router with gargoyle, Pc has no ping to internet

Post by balange »

Same as yours, but repeater disabled, use different IP's and wpa2 encryption btw the 2 router. But no internet on pc connected to bridge.

Post Reply