TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 2:15 am

Research on buttons

Reference
https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/archer- ... re_details


C7 v1
Button count = 1
Image

C7 v2
Button count =1
Image

C7 v3
Button count =1
Image

C7 v4
Button count = 2
Image

C7 v5
Button count = 2
Image

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 2:39 am

I've doubled check the wiki using pictures from the various manuals.

Look like the wiki has v1 as incorrect?

Not sure why they changed the "wifi on/off" with a "reset" button?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 2:46 am

from the manual

WPS/Reset:
Pressing this button for less than 5 seconds enables the WPS function. If your client devices,
such as wireless adapters, that support Wi-Fi Protected Setup, then you can press this
button to quickly establish a connection between the router and client devices and
automatically configure wireless security for your wireless network.
Pressing this button for more than 5 seconds enables the Reset function. With the router
powered on, press and hold the WPS/Reset button (approximately 8 seconds) until the SYS
LED becomes quick-flash from slow-flash. And then release the button and wait the router
to reboot to its factory default settings.


How about adding the WPS function to Gargoyle?

WPS doesn't work out of the box on OpenWrt or LEDE, you need to remove wpad-mini and install wpad and hostapd-utils, reboot, and then you should see the option to enable WPS in Luci under Network>Wireless>Wireless Security. In my experience, WPS actually working is hit or miss, although it works fine on my WRT1200 v1 on LEDE.


Does anybody use WPS?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5057
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby Lantis » Thu May 02, 2019 3:06 am

WPS is a bit of a hassle to add and a big security issue. Would prefer not to.
I’m not sure I follow all the pictures. Are you saying the pictures are wrong?
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 3:40 am

The pictures are accurate but the wiki has one mistake

The wiki says

C7 v1
Button count = 2

were in fact it should say

C7 v1
Button count = 1

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 3:41 am

OK, forget WPS. I was just putting it out there.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Thu May 02, 2019 8:36 pm

How about

v1 - v3
WPS/Reset Button:
Short Press = Reboot router/reset
Long Press = Factory reset

v4 - v5
WPS/Reset Button:
Short Press = Toggle wifi on/off
Long Press = Factory reset

Reset Button:
Short Press = Reboot router/reset
Long Press = Factory reset

ektus
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 2:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ektus » Fri May 03, 2019 2:01 am

ispyisail wrote:v4 - v5
WPS/Reset Button:
Short Press = Toggle wifi on/off
Long Press = Factory reset

Reset Button:
Short Press = Reboot router/reset
Long Press = Factory reset


Wouldn't it be better to have an "erase usage data" for long press on the WPS button? That way, if there were a reboot loop due to corrupt usage data, it could be fixed without having to resort to using command line tools or having to set up from scratch.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Sat May 04, 2019 9:55 pm

update on the C7 v2

The "wifi on/off" side switch = rfkill

The WPS/Rest P/B = wps

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4633
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: TP-Link Archer C7 - Hardware buttons

Postby ispyisail » Sat May 04, 2019 10:48 pm

I can confirm that when edited

Code: Select all

config button 'reset_button'
   option button 'reset'
   option action 'released'
   option handler 'logger restore defaults ; /sbin/firstboot -y; reboot ;'
   option min '3'
   option max '90'


to

Code: Select all

   option button 'wps'


That the C7 v2 factory resets

I can also confirm the "wifi switch" when toggled in both directions reboots the router

Code: Select all

config button 'reboot_button'
   option button 'rfkill'
   option action 'released'
   option handler 'logger reboot ; /usr/lib/gargoyle/reboot.sh ;'
   option min '3'
   option max '90'


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests