Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

I setup my wireless in gargoyle, and now in wifi scheduler it shows disable...
Before seting up wifi
ifconfig -a

Code: Select all

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 84:1B:5E:AF:18:8F
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
iwinfo

Code: Select all

wlan0     ESSID: unknown
          Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
          Mode: Client  Channel: unknown (unknown)
          Tx-Power: 0 dBm  Link Quality: unknown/70
          Signal: unknown  Noise: unknown
          Bit Rate: unknown
          Encryption: unknown
          Type: nl80211  HW Mode(s): 802.11abg
          Hardware: unknown [Generic MAC80211]
          TX power offset: unknown
          Frequency offset: unknown
          Supports VAPs: no  PHY name: phy0
After setting up wifi, nothing for both.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Lantis »

iwinfo is used to get the status of the wifi (up or down).
No information returned is considered "down".

Can you establish a wifi link manually?
Edit /etc/config/wireless to your needs then type "wifi" to bring the config online.

I'd like to rule out the gargoyle GUI as not being able to handle your hardware.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

nothing, deleted my wireless setting and still nothing.

rebooted, same result

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/# lspci
00:00.0 Class 0600: 8086:0a04
00:02.0 Class 0300: 8086:0a16
00:03.0 Class 0403: 8086:0a0c
00:14.0 Class 0c03: 8086:9c31
00:16.0 Class 0780: 8086:9c3a
00:1b.0 Class 0403: 8086:9c20
00:1c.0 Class 0604: 8086:9c14
00:1c.3 Class 0604: 8086:9c16
00:1c.4 Class 0604: 8086:9c18
00:1d.0 Class 0c03: 8086:9c26
00:1f.0 Class 0601: 8086:9c43
00:1f.2 Class 0106: 8086:9c03
00:1f.3 Class 0c05: 8086:9c22
01:00.0 Class 0200: 8086:1539
02:00.0 Class 0280: 14e4:4353
03:00.0 Class 0200: 8086:1539
root@Gargoyle:/# cat /etc/config/wireless

config wifi-device 'radio0'
        option type 'mac80211'
        option hwmode '11g'
        option path 'pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.3/0000:02:00.0/bcma0:1'
        option channel '4'

root@Gargoyle:/#

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

Actually my bad, it does work.

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/sbin# wifi status
{
        "radio0": {
                "up": false,
                "pending": false,
                "autostart": false,
                "disabled": false,
                "config": {
                        "hwmode": "11g",
                        "path": "pci0000:00\/0000:00:1c.3\/0000:02:00.0\/bcma0:1",
                        "channel": "4"
                },
                "interfaces": [
                        {
                                "section": "ap_g",
                                "config": {
                                        "mode": "ap",
                                        "disassoc_low_ack": false,
                                        "ssid": "Gargoyle",
                                        "encryption": "none",
                                        "mode": "ap",
                                        "network": [
                                                "lan"
                                        ]
                                }
                        }
                ]
        }
}
root@Gargoyle:/sbin#
It show as it's down. But before I setup the wireless I can turn it down and off.

Code: Select all

root@Gargoyle:/sbin# wifi status
{
        "radio0": {
                "up": true,
                "pending": false,
                "autostart": true,
                "disabled": false,
                "config": {
                        "hwmode": "11g",
                        "path": "pci0000:00\/0000:00:1c.3\/0000:02:00.0\/bcma0:1",
                        "channel": "4"
                },
                "interfaces": [

                ]
        }
}
root@Gargoyle:/sbin# wifi down
root@Gargoyle:/sbin# wifi status
{
        "radio0": {
                "up": false,
                "pending": false,
                "autostart": false,
                "disabled": false,
                "config": {
                        "hwmode": "11g",
                        "path": "pci0000:00\/0000:00:1c.3\/0000:02:00.0\/bcma0:1",
                        "channel": "4"
                },
                "interfaces": [

                ]
        }
}
root@Gargoyle:/sbin#

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

I reflash my x86 image and wlan0 is back... I havn't setup wireless in the gui yet. So I did a iw wlan0 scan and it was able to find all my wifi network from my other router. Also when issue "ip link set wlan0 up" and "iw wlan0 scan
" I get this in log:
[ 876.784943] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 877.024821] b43-phy0 debug: Chip initialized
[ 877.024916] b43-phy0 debug: 64-bit DMA initialized
[ 877.024983] b43-phy0 debug: QoS enabled
[ 877.025605] b43-phy0 debug: Wireless interface started
[ 877.064798] b43-phy0 debug: Adding Interface type 2
[ 877.104799] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[ 904.889299] b43-phy0 debug: Switching to 5 GHz band
[ 912.854871] b43-phy0 debug: Switching to 2.4 GHz band
The firmware version looks to be to old... and I do have 5 GHz on that card. I'm running out of idea's.... Reload with newer firmware same result. found this:
Sun Mar 12 20:51:00 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5332): command failed: Operation not supported (-95)
Sun Mar 12 20:51:00 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5332): ./mac80211.sh: eval: line 1: /usr/sbin/hostapd: not found
Sun Mar 12 20:51:00 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5332): cat: can't open '/var/run/wifi-phy0.pid': No such file or directory
Sun Mar 12 20:51:00 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5332): Command failed: Invalid argument
Sun Mar 12 20:51:00 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5332): Device setup failed: HOSTAPD_START_FAILED
Sun Mar 12 20:51:06 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5436): command failed: Operation not supported (-95)
Sun Mar 12 20:51:06 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5436): ./mac80211.sh: eval: line 1: /usr/sbin/hostapd: not found
Sun Mar 12 20:51:06 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5436): cat: can't open '/var/run/wifi-phy0.pid': No such file or directory
Sun Mar 12 20:51:06 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5436): Command failed: Invalid argument
Sun Mar 12 20:51:06 2017 daemon.notice netifd: radio0 (5436): Device setup failed: HOSTAPD_START_FAILED

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Lantis »

Can we please stick to using the config file and the "wifi" command rather than using iw to establish links?

Did you select hostapd to be installed? That is crucial.
It should be selected as adependency of Gargoyle.
You also want hostapd-common
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

That did it... :D :D Thanks. I have wireless online with b-g-n on 2.4 GHz. Now I need figure out why 5 Ghz is not showing. I used brcmsmac. Do you know if it support 5 GHz?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Lantis »

I think it supports it.
But I'm honestly out of ideas.

You may be better off asking these questions at the Openwrt or LEDE forums.
They are more technical building questions than Gargoyle specific.

Sorry
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Phil
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:09 am

Re: Looking to build a x86 base router with gargoyle

Post by Phil »

Don't be, You help me a alot. Thanks. I will ask on Openwrt forum... Thanks again.

Post Reply