[ASK]Routing two networks

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Siaunen2
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:40 pm

[ASK]Routing two networks

Post by Siaunen2 »

I have two networks which I am interested in connecting. The first network is connected to router A, while the second network is connected to router B.
Some basic network details:

Router A:
WAN IP Address: 192.168.1.65
WAN Netmask: 255.255.255.0
LAN IP Address: 192.168.0.1
LAN Netmask:255.255.255.0
DHCP On while having wireless extender (dumb switch) at 192.168.0.254
Client Gateway : 192.168.0.1

Router B:
WAN IP Address: 192.168.1.64
WAN Netmask: 255.255.255.0
LAN IP Address: 192.168.2.1
LAN Netmask:255.255.255.0
DHCP On
Client Gateway : 192.168.2.1

Both router A & B are wired to internet modem (192.168.1.1).
I've set the static routing for router A and B as follows:
Router A:
192.168.2.0/255.255.255.0 wan 192.168.1.64
Router B:
192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0 wan 192.168.1.65

While i can both ping and access gargoyle web management page in router A from the second network and vice versa. But when i am trying to ping wireless extender from the second network i get Reply from 192.168.1.65: Destination port unreachable, and when i open the gargoyle web management for wireless extender (192.168.0.254 in browser) i get the router A gargoyle web management instead of the wireless extender.

Here some traceroute to router A and wireless extender from the second network:
To router A

Code: Select all

Tracing route to 192.168.0.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1     1 ms     1 ms     2 ms  Gargoyle.lan [192.168.2.1]
  2     4 ms     1 ms     2 ms  192.168.0.1

Trace complete.
To wireless extender

Code: Select all

Tracing route to 192.168.0.254 over a maximum of 30 hops

  1     1 ms     1 ms     2 ms  Gargoyle.lan [192.168.2.1]
  2     1 ms     2 ms     2 ms  192.168.1.65
  3  192.168.1.65  reports: Destination protocol unreachable.

Trace complete.
So the question is how can i reach all of the client in the first network from the second network and vice versa?

Thank you very much for your reads and help in advance! This seems like it should be a simple thing, but I am having incredible difficulty with this..

note:
[*]Router A, B, and the wireless extender all running gargoyle, while the internet modem is Alcatel Lucent
I-240W-A.
[*]I have administrative access to all devices.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5185
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: [ASK]Routing two networks

Post by ispyisail »

Seams like a standard setup. Why are you manually configuring the routers?

I would let the 3 DHCP servers do there job. Just make sure they are all on different subnets as you have already done

Siaunen2
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 2:40 pm

Re: [ASK]Routing two networks

Post by Siaunen2 »

Thank you for your reply:
By adding this line on /etc/firewall.user on router A
iptables -I FORWARD -d 192.168.0.0/24 -j ACCEPT
and adding this line on /etc/firewall.user on router B
iptables -I FORWARD -d 192.168.2.0/24 -j ACCEPT
i managed to ping all client on router A from router B and vice versa. By disabling remote web admin access on router A and router B, i managed to access wireless extender's web admin, but i cant access router A's web admin from client in router B and vice versa.
By stopping firewall on both router A and router B i managed to reach both routers web admin.
Any insight on which firewall rule i might add/remove?

Post Reply