no-qanon plugin, or any way to block many domains?

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
DeliBoy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2022 12:14 pm

no-qanon plugin, or any way to block many domains?

Post by DeliBoy »

I recently came across the no-qanon project, and was wondering if there was a way to get this in a plugin. I currently use the DNS Adblocking plugin, and it works well.

They also provide a large list of domains that get blocked. I've used Gargoyle to block individual domains, but I don't see a way to import a list into the hostfile, or similar. Am I missing something?

I can't post a link, but the no-qanon project can be found on github, created by rimu.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 5033
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: no-qanon plugin, or any way to block many domains?

Post by ispyisail »


Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6394
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: no-qanon plugin, or any way to block many domains?

Post by Lantis »

Modify the adblock plugin to pull in another source. There is no support for adding sources by config or by GUI, so you have to mod the plugin.
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... ck.sh#L105
Duplicate line 105 and change the source to
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/rimu/ ... _hosts.txt
i.e. add a line such as

Code: Select all

ewget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/rimu/no-qanon/master/dnsmasq_hosts.txt 2>/dev/null | awk -v r="$ENDPOINT_IP4" '{sub(/^0.0.0.0/, r)} $0 ~ "^"r' > /tmp/block.build.list
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

DeliBoy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2022 12:14 pm

Re: no-qanon plugin, or any way to block many domains?

Post by DeliBoy »

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Post Reply