Version 1.8.0 - Stable

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6032
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by Lantis »

This is because even in the openwrt source code they haven't implemented a way of distinguishing the two versions. There seems to be no unique identifier that I can find.
It's a visual bug and shoudnt cause you any trouble.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

sonic2000
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:14 am

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by sonic2000 »

WDR3600 v1 Upgrade successful. Preserve Settings checked.

Web page appeared to be stuck, but the router eventually came back up. All plugins had to be reinstalled.

mjpg-streamer is no longer available for some reason.

root@Gargoyle:/etc/config# opkg install kmod-video-uvc mjpg-streamer
ERROR: mjpg-streamer is not a valid package file, cannot install

phgerin
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by phgerin »

Upnp monitoring via external app (peakhour)broken on wdr3600: cant connect to router. Tried with and without preserving settings.
Everything else seems ok.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4929
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by ispyisail »

Upnp monitoring via external app (peakhour)broken on wdr3600:
vs what version?

Vioner
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:13 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by Vioner »

One thing here is really stupid. More and more new versions pop out and most essential features are being neglected and left "unstable".
I mean the bandwidth caps of course. Just like in my Netgear WNDR3700v2 - only half the ISPs bandwidth avalible - 120-125Mbit/s instead of 250. Still not fixed. I haven't checked LAN speeds.

So to be sure - this bandwidth weird limitations hasn't been fixed yet right?

I'm on @1.6.2 as it's the last truly stable build. I would never call builds with bandwidth caps stable - it's like taking few huge steps back and acting like nothing happened.
Sorry if I sound irritating :D If I do, then good :D Now you know how I feel xD

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6032
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by Lantis »

The semantics of the word stable could be argued, but in this case it means that it is the final version of the Barrier Breaker release line (besides bug fixes) such that work can begin on the newer line Chaos Calmer.

The bandwidth problem you mention is inherent in BB, and it is hoped it will be fixed with the CC branch.
So as you can see, the best efforts of the development team are to move forward.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

phgerin
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:03 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by phgerin »

ispyisail wrote:
Upnp monitoring via external app (peakhour)broken on wdr3600:
vs what version?
It works with 1.6.x on WDR3600 v1.
Was also working with early builds of 1.7.x until the data counter on 32bits was fixed.

klaafstra99
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:59 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by klaafstra99 »

First: another BIG "thank you" to Eric and all other supporters!

Just to let you know: I just installed 1.8.0 on a 1043nd without any hassle. Just connected my 1043nd to ethernet, did a 'Restore default configuration' first, and then flashed my 1043nd with the 'factory' bin file of 1.8.0 for the 1043nd v1.

And now I'm going to start praying 24/7 for ipv6 in 1.9.0... :roll:

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4929
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by ispyisail »

I notice nobody has complained about wifi?

In my opinion 1.8 is much better that the 1.6 series in respect to wifi stability.

justAguy
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 8:03 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by justAguy »

Still broken, just like 1.7.2 (Archer C7 V2).

In the channel config, the 2.4Ghz channel select shows 5Ghz channels and vise versa.
5Ghz channels: 1-11
2.4Ghz channels: 36-165

If I try to change 5Gz to 40Mhz its available channels dropdown goes blank.

Currently showing 2.4Gz on channel 1 and 5Ghz enabled.
Wi-Fi snoop shows channel 6 and no 5Ghz.

Post Reply