Version 1.8.0 - Stable

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

paradoxman
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:01 am

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by paradoxman »

hello, I am experiencing the same bug from 1.7.2 described here https://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/v ... =11&t=7367 , also on this new build 1.8.0 ; is there some quick and dirty solution to the problem or I'll have to wait for 1.9.x ? thx

router : WDR4300

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5773
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by Lantis »

I'll reply in that thread.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

grim
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:20 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by grim »

448 wrote:
grim wrote:So Would not recommend anyone with TP-Link wr1043nd

I can not agree. I have an old TP-Link WR1043ND ver 1.8, and the router works fine with the firmware 1.8.0. I wrote about it here.

Mine is 1.7
However I didn't try HW reset.

paradoxman
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:01 am

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by paradoxman »

Lantis wrote:I'll reply in that thread.


thanks for your reply, in my case, my network config is nothing special, the router is set up as an AP on 2.4 ghz with google servers as dns servers 8.8.4.4 and 8.8.8.8 and a dns host (on dyndns.com) which it has to update on every modem restart; this modem that is tied up to the WDR4300 on WAN, everytime it restarts it gives the WDR4300 a new IP so the router has to update my dns account with the new IP; the problem is that even if the internet modem won't restart (and has the same IP for several days), WDR4300 with gargoyle 1.7.2 updates my dns account with 127.0.0.1 at least 1 time/day; if I leave it that way and don't correct it manually (logging into my dns account and changing IP) then after few hours the WDR4300 updates again the dns account but this time with the correct IP; so really don't know what's happening, fact is that 127.0.0.1 shows up at least 1 time/day if I don't even touch the settings; with the same network settings everything was fine on older 1.6.2 firmware for example;
thanks for your time

rfdude
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 2:16 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - WiFi not stable

Post by rfdude »

My experience since 1.7.2, now 1.8.0 has been the same as GRIM posted a couple pages ago in this thread. WiFi seems a lot weaker (1 bar instead of 4) than before and occasional disconnects occur. Today the WiFi is almost unusable despite reboot and attempts at 1.8.0 re-installation. Router is a Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2. So there are two issues...1) Weak WiFi 2) Occassional disconnects.

If relevant... Checked the log and found RADIUS accounting messages, but I do not use RADIUS or have a RADIUS server.
Mon Sep 7 21:56:32 2015 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 1c:3e:84:b8:b2:0b RADIUS: starting accounting session 55EE2006-00000006
Mon Sep 7 21:56:32 2015 daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 1c:3e:84:b8:b2:0b WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Mon Sep 7 21:56:32 2015 daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2528]: DHCPREQUEST(br-lan) 192.168.2.100 1c:3e:84:b8:b2:0b
Mon Sep 7 21:56:32 2015 daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2528]: DHCPACK(br-lan) 192.168.2.100 1c:3e:84:b8:b2:0b FamilyPC

Successfully loaded 1.8.0 on an Asus WL500G Premium v1 but WiFi doesn't work at all. Wired Ethernet seems to work.

Tony
rfdude
------------------
1.09.2 Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2 -> 8 OpenMesh AP's
1.10.0 Archer C7 -> Multiple Cisco 1702i Autonomous Mode

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5773
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by Lantis »

sonic2000 wrote:Example:
Ad exemption check
startip: 192.168.1.20
endip: 192.168.1.20

On machine 192.168.1.20 all ads DNS queries should now be able to resolve, but some still do not. Example of one below.

SNIP...

Lantis wrote:
sonic2000 wrote:New adblock plugin has a bug. Exempt IP range will no exempt all DNS queries - that is some will still get blocked even after dnsflush.


More details please.
Steps to reproduce problem.



Thank you for your detailed instructions. I have replicated the error.

There is good news and bad news.

Good news:
- i understand the problem, and actually have understood dnsmasq system a lot better as a result of this.
- i can give you temporary workaround instructions

Bad news:
- i will not be able to devote any time to fixing this issue properly until december. At this point i will be rewriting the plugin significantly to fix issues such as this as well as implement additional functionality.


Workaround:
After adding an IP exemption, you need to force the client to use a DNS server manually instead of just pointing towards the router itself.
e.g. 8.8.8.4 and 8.8.8.8

The exemption not working is a result of the exempted client continuing to look for the routers dns server which still blocks ads.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
ericwong
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by ericwong »

StyXziBITiz wrote:Router: TP-Link Archer C7 v2

-USB Storage is not working correctly. I can only read via FTP. I cant change read to read&write permissions. I´ve tried everything - i cant change this to R/W


Works fine for me on TP-1043ND v1 and also v2.
Eric Wong

PM me if you need to buy Gargoyle router in Australia/NZ, willing to pay me to help you on your Gargoyle configurations or build custom configured ROM with pre-installed app or try to fix your bricked router. Yes, I am looking for job/work.

sonic2000
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:14 am

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by sonic2000 »

Thanks Lantis, I will try it. Workaround is fine with me.
Lantis wrote:
sonic2000 wrote:Example:
Ad exemption check
startip: 192.168.1.20
endip: 192.168.1.20

On machine 192.168.1.20 all ads DNS queries should now be able to resolve, but some still do not. Example of one below.

SNIP...

Lantis wrote:New adblock plugin has a bug. Exempt IP range will no exempt all DNS queries - that is some will still get blocked even after dnsflush.


More details please.
Steps to reproduce problem.



Thank you for your detailed instructions. I have replicated the error.

There is good news and bad news.

Good news:
- i understand the problem, and actually have understood dnsmasq system a lot better as a result of this.
- i can give you temporary workaround instructions

Bad news:
- i will not be able to devote any time to fixing this issue properly until december. At this point i will be rewriting the plugin significantly to fix issues such as this as well as implement additional functionality.


Workaround:
After adding an IP exemption, you need to force the client to use a DNS server manually instead of just pointing towards the router itself.
e.g. 8.8.8.4 and 8.8.8.8

The exemption not working is a result of the exempted client continuing to look for the routers dns server which still blocks ads.[/quote]

nitro2012
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:27 pm

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by nitro2012 »

I use 1043ND v1

Gargoyle 1.8 don't detect my ZTE MF821 under QMI option - device not found. I use old version 1.6.2.2 and it works.

n8b
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:20 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Version 1.8.0 - Stable

Post by n8b »

The warning at the download page should be extended

WARNING: Do not attempt to preserve settings when upgrading from versions ≤ 1.6.2 to 1.7.0, or versions ≤ 1.5.6 to 1.5.7+ or versions < 1.7.2 to 1.8.0+

I restored old config into my v1.8.0 TL-WDR4300v1.6 and had to recover it following this thread. All is good now. :D
● wrt1200ac (wired-only router)
AP's or for test:
● tl-wdr4300 OpenWrt 18.06.0 (too small for 1.11.X)
● tl-wr841nd OpenWrt 18.06.0 (too small for 1.11.X)
● tew-691gr OpenWrt 18.06.0

Post Reply