Version 1.5.11 - Translations

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby DoesItMatter » Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:59 am

boot wrote:using xfitiny comcast can anything work can connect to gargoyle


Not understanding - are you having issues with Gargoyle and your
Comcast Xfinity router?

The issue might be that the newer Comcast Routers have IPV6
capability but I think currently IPV4 is what's supported with Gargoyle

You might have to try OpenWRT instead and use the
Barrier Breaker trunk which can be configured for IPV6 or
you can compile your own images (not that hard with a linux box)
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

UsernameTaken
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby UsernameTaken » Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:14 pm

I can't get DLNA/UPnP media servers to be visible.

That used to be a problem with regular openwrt too (https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=43160).

The fix was to disable multicast snooping with:

echo "0">/sys/devices/virtual/net/br-lan/bridge/multicast_snooping

This command does not work with gargoyle it seems. Is that a bug or is there another way to disable multicast snooping?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby DoesItMatter » Tue Dec 17, 2013 2:10 pm

UsernameTaken wrote:I can't get DLNA/UPnP media servers to be visible.

That used to be a problem with regular openwrt too (https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=43160).

The fix was to disable multicast snooping with:

echo "0">/sys/devices/virtual/net/br-lan/bridge/multicast_snooping

This command does not work with gargoyle it seems. Is that a bug or is there another way to disable multicast snooping?


Your answer is in the last few messages of that post.

Might have to wait for a newer version of Gargoyle that is updated.

Or - possibly ISpyISail's test builds may allow this to work.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

UsernameTaken
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby UsernameTaken » Tue Dec 17, 2013 3:53 pm

DoesItMatter wrote:Your answer is in the last few messages of that post.

Might have to wait for a newer version of Gargoyle that is updated.

Or - possibly ISpyISail's test builds may allow this to work.



I don't think so. The last thing I used on that router, when things were working, was openwrt attitude adjustment rc1. I'm pretty sure Gargoyle is based on a more recent version.

UsernameTaken
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby UsernameTaken » Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:50 am

UsernameTaken wrote:I can't get DLNA/UPnP media servers to be visible.


It seems to work now, I don't know if it has to do with me rebooting my media server and router multiple times or changes I made in the sysctl.conf file. ...but it works

Dev_BR
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:55 am

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby Dev_BR » Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:19 pm

Whould be a nice feature to have a checkbox for each Static Ip Client.

That checkbox would set atributes for clientes, like, Force TOR use, or force DNS server ...

Dr. Crash
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby Dr. Crash » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:32 pm

Hi,

I upgrade a WRT 3600 from 1.5.10 to 1.5.11 successfully, right after backing up my settings. However Gargoyle had thrown all my settings away, so I did "restore settings" and now Gargoyle hangs. I wonder how settings backup/restore work, they seem so fragile (and contain a copy of the whole /etc/rc.d... that seems fragile to me), but that's beside the point.

I am trying to flash the factory image using tftp. When my router boot, it is briefly visible as 192.168.1.1 and I can connect using tftp, however the router is not accessible for long enough for tftp to successfully put the image.

I also tried to ssh into it and get denied (not possible to connect on port 22), and even then I wouldn't know what to do once on the router to fix things up.

This is all on a wired connection to the router. It never starts wireless.

Do you have pointers about what I can do? If I could ssh, how could I stop whatever is happening in the boot sequence that makes the router stop being accessible as 192.168.1.1?

Thanks a lot. I hope to get my router back on its feet.

raiko
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:50 am

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby raiko » Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:00 pm

Hi Eric,

Thanks for the new update. I've installed 2 plugins for the WR1043ND_V1, Webcam and PPTP. The webcam plugin works great. My good old cams now have their new jobs :D .

Cheers,
R
Last edited by raiko on Wed Jan 29, 2014 8:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TP-Link WR1043ND v1.8:Gargoyle 1.5.11
LinkSys WRT610N v2:Tomato RAF 1.28.9006

flasher
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:13 am

Re: Version 1.5.11 - Translations

Postby flasher » Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:32 am

Hello,

I have been working on Turkish translation of Gargoyle, its half-done, so maybe anyone want to continue translation i have uploded my work to my dropbox.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/381 ... ish-TR.rar

Gargoyle 1.5.11 sürümüyle birlikte dil desteği sunuyor. İngilizce aslından çeviri yapmaya başladım. Eğer yardım etmek isterseniz yukarıdaki bağlantıdan indirip, çeviriye katkıda bulunabilirsiniz. Dosyaları açmak için notepad++ kullanmayı unutmayın.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest