Version 1.5.10

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by Eric »

saint056a: I just tested your bug, and I'm having trouble reproducing the problem. When I select https only I cannot access the WAN IP from outside via http, only https.

Note: you need to test from a system that is actually outside the network, not plugging the external IP into your browser while still inside the local network. If you are still inside the network, even if you're trying to access the external IP, you will be allowed through the firewall.

lceron80
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by lceron80 »

Eric wrote:saint056a: I just tested your bug, and I'm having trouble reproducing the problem. When I select https only I cannot access the WAN IP from outside via http, only https.

Note: you need to test from a system that is actually outside the network, not plugging the external IP into your browser while still inside the local network. If you are still inside the network, even if you're trying to access the external IP, you will be allowed through the firewall.


thanks for clearing that up Eric. saint try using a smart phone that isn't connected to your network.
1x wndr3700v4 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndr3800 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndr4300v1 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndrmacv2 exp. 1.9.x

pmerrill
Posts: 290
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by pmerrill »

maguvu wrote:Works like a charm on both routers tl-1043 and wdr4300
Big up Mr Eric
Nice work


I'm currently on DD-WRT but keen to get back to Gargoyle on my TP-Link 4300. However, I'd really like to know if anyone can confirm the following:
  • Fewer wireless dropouts
  • Connects to xBox 360
  • 2.4GHz can be setup to connect @ 300Mbps AND to 11g, 1.5.9 could not enable this.
Paul
Gargoyle 1.11.x on TP-Link Archer C7 V2 H/W

sting.a
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:57 am

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by sting.a »

Hi! Thanks for the great work done. I have a router TL-mr3420 v1 before the update gives the message
Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

User avatar
maguvu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:13 am
Location: Dubai, UAE.

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by maguvu »

pmerrill wrote:
maguvu wrote:Works like a charm on both routers tl-1043 and wdr4300
Big up Mr Eric
Nice work


I'm currently on DD-WRT but keen to get back to Gargoyle on my TP-Link 4300. However, I'd really like to know if anyone can confirm the following:
  • Fewer wireless dropouts
  • Connects to xBox 360
  • 2.4GHz can be setup to connect @ 300Mbps AND to 11g, 1.5.9 could not enable this.


I can confirm Xbox wireless problem is solved with this release.
I haven't experienced yet dropout of wireless.
There is little I mean tiny little reduction of speed.
Generally I am happy with the release solved a lot of my problems.
Thus all I can tell you.
TP-Link TL-WDR4300 Version 1.0,Firmware :Gargoyle Version 1.6.1
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND Version 1.0,Firmware :Gargoyle Version 1.6.1
OS : Linux Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

alencarazevedo
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:47 am

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by alencarazevedo »

I'm using this new version for 5 days. I noticed several improvements. The wireless is faster and stronger.
I installed extroot, minidlna and Transmission. They are running "lightly" and without crash, reeboot or error.

Thank you again Eric!

saint056a
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by saint056a »

Eric wrote:saint056a: I just tested your bug, and I'm having trouble reproducing the problem. When I select https only I cannot access the WAN IP from outside via http, only https.

Note: you need to test from a system that is actually outside the network, not plugging the external IP into your browser while still inside the local network. If you are still inside the network, even if you're trying to access the external IP, you will be allowed through the firewall.


Hello Eric, i have tested the connection with my laptop connected to one free WIFI which i can catch from my room, even i have tested the connection with one DDNS account and worked via HTTP. Interesting is that i cant login now and seems working fine. Dont know, maybe i could have been misled or browser cache made me tricks or this happens sometimes. I'll test this again this week and if i found something strange ill post here.

lceron80
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by lceron80 »

i have discovered an issue in copying files in samba. the error is no such file or directory. check out my video file below...


http://ubuntuone.com/1NVQECxxIquPcrHyR2GDBL
1x wndr3700v4 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndr3800 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndr4300v1 exp. 1.9.x
1x wndrmacv2 exp. 1.9.x

reddily
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:02 am
Location: UK

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by reddily »

Great work!

Installed 1.5.10 on a Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH to replace DD-WRT which was interminably unreliable for WiFi on the WZR, particularly with iOS devices.

I upgraded by simply SCP'ing the sysupgrade.bin file to the router and running mtd to write the flash device.

Initially, the WLAN was setup on Ch.11 with WPA2-PSK and I experienced the WLAN hanging after approx half an hour of constant music streaming - just stopped passing data. Changed that to Ch.3 & it's been reliable since. I couldn't see anything specifically in error (but my knowledge of the diag tools isn't that deep).

OpenVPN setup in work - got connections but no traffic flow yet! Want to run Ubuntu, Windows and iOS clients.

jdroh
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 12:21 am

Re: Version 1.5.10

Post by jdroh »

reddily, can you verify my issue with iOS?

I was having trouble getting 256 bit ( Blowfish ) encryption handshaking to work properly with the iOS client (OpenVPN 1.0.1 build 88)

Not sure if it was cockpit error or a problem with the OpenVPN GUI setup scripts on the router.

Note that with the default setups, I had to tweak the configuration files via ssh.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4264&start=10#p18610

Post Reply