Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
ericwong
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by ericwong »

excelsi wrote: Can somebody tell me where i can find these logs from the command line after i established a telnet seessions to the router?


Try
logread
dmesg
Eric Wong

PM me if you need to buy Gargoyle router in Australia/NZ, willing to pay me to help you on your Gargoyle configurations or build custom configured ROM with pre-installed app or try to fix your bricked router. Yes, I am looking for job/work.

ZoomThru
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:00 am

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by ZoomThru »

Can anyone please help me? I'm the goof that didn't read the latest release notes and just flashed my WNDR3700V2 to 1.5.7 successfully and then tried to apply the backup config file from 1.5.4

Router now seems bricked? Can't access web UI/ no internet.
Looks like it boots normally (lights flashing and all), but reset button on bottom has no effect. Lights don't blink or reboot or anything no matter how long I hold the button power cycled or not.

Tried to connect with ssh (putty) but couldn't connect and really don't have any real clue here what to do.

Slacker
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by Slacker »

ZoomThru wrote:Tried to connect with ssh (putty) but couldn't connect and really don't have any real clue here what to do.


I know you mentioned the reset button doing nothing, but have you tried TFP?
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/netgear/wnd ... lsafe.mode

User avatar
olo
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:51 am

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by olo »

I report that Wi-Fi is still unstable on Asus WL-500-gP V2 - crashes 1-2 times per 24h.
Best regards,
Olo
---
Asus WL-500-gP V2 @ v1.7.0 - WiFi - unable to enable.
TP-Link TL-WR1043ND - so far so good :)

User avatar
ericwong
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by ericwong »

olo wrote:I report that Wi-Fi is still unstable on Asus WL-500-gP V2 - crashes 1-2 times per 24h.


Can you check if the equivalent OpenWRT build, i.e. attitude_adjustment branch, not gargoyle also have the same problem?

If yes, then it is OpenWRT problem, not gargoyle's. Try finding a solution at Openwrt or submit a ticket there?
Eric Wong

PM me if you need to buy Gargoyle router in Australia/NZ, willing to pay me to help you on your Gargoyle configurations or build custom configured ROM with pre-installed app or try to fix your bricked router. Yes, I am looking for job/work.

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.5.7 -- OpenWRT "Attitude Adjustment"

Post by Eric »

The issues with usb printer sharing and with 3g has now been addressed in the latest version in the repo.

I've confirmed the PPPoE bug reported by jorgemiguel4 but am still working on a fix.

excelsi: I tested your report of OpenVPN not starting after a reboot, but I couldn't reproduce the issue. You are going to need to provide a lot more information about your network setup (ascii art is good here) and your OpenVPN setup to figure out what might be going on. I don't think this is a 1.5.7/attitude adjustment related bug since you said it happened before too, so posting in another forum/thread would probably be best.

Dev_BR
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:55 am

QOS

Post by Dev_BR »

I have 2 routers MR3420

Master router in Gateway mode
- Connect Via: DHCP wired
- LAN IP Address:192.168.2.1
- QoS Upload:Enabled
- QoS "Normal" Rule Max BW = 700k for Destination: 192.168.2.100

Remote router in Wireless Bridge/Repeater
- Connected Via:Client Bridge
- Bridge IP Address:192.168.2.200
- QoS Upload:Enabled
- QoS "Normal" Rule Max BW = 700k for Destination: 192.168.2.100

In above config, MASTER router acts as DHCP and DNS server.

QoS(Upload) dont work !

User avatar
ericwong
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:15 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: QOS

Post by ericwong »

Dev_BR wrote:- QoS "Normal" Rule Max BW = 700k for Destination: 192.168.2.100

QoS(Upload) dont work !


Looks like there is an issue with your QoS rule and also possibly your network configuration not being ideal. e.g. why do you need another QoS rule on the wireless repeater when you already have one at the master router?

Why do you set Destination: 192.168.2.100 ?
This seems to be the reason why QoS is not working for you...
Eric Wong

PM me if you need to buy Gargoyle router in Australia/NZ, willing to pay me to help you on your Gargoyle configurations or build custom configured ROM with pre-installed app or try to fix your bricked router. Yes, I am looking for job/work.

Dev_BR
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:55 am

Re: QOS

Post by Dev_BR »

ericwong wrote:
Looks like there is an issue with your QoS rule and also possibly your network configuration not being ideal. e.g. why do you need another QoS rule on the wireless repeater when you already have one at the master router?

Why do you set Destination: 192.168.2.100 ?
This seems to be the reason why QoS is not working for you...

Cause 192.168.2.100 is my PC and I use it for test.
I had a lot of QoS rules in 1.5.6 and all seems to work ok.

It was a desperate attempt.
I tried to activate QoS individually on each of the routers.

Very bad news: one of the routers does not accept the password.
I can access the web user interface and prompt via SSH.
The reset button does not respond!
And no, I have not tried to preserve the previous settings

jorgemiguel4
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: QOS

Post by jorgemiguel4 »

Dev_BR wrote:
ericwong wrote:
Looks like there is an issue with your QoS rule and also possibly your network configuration not being ideal. e.g. why do you need another QoS rule on the wireless repeater when you already have one at the master router?

Why do you set Destination: 192.168.2.100 ?
This seems to be the reason why QoS is not working for you...

Cause 192.168.2.100 is my PC and I use it for test.
I had a lot of QoS rules in 1.5.6 and all seems to work ok.

It was a desperate attempt.
I tried to activate QoS individually on each of the routers.

Very bad news: one of the routers does not accept the password.
I can access the web user interface and prompt via SSH.
The reset button does not respond!
And no, I have not tried to preserve the previous settings



About password:
- Remove power from router, then reconnect and start clicking fast on QSS button until SYS Led starts blinking very fast
- Set you computer IP to 192.168.1.2
- Connect your router using Telnet 192.168.1.1 with putty or whatever you use...

Execute the commands:
- mount_root
- passwd

You will be prompted for the new password in passwd command.

Post Reply