Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

jefman
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:46 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by jefman »

Works great on X86 version. no connection drop when saving a setting and seems its a best QOS now..


Thanks Sir Eric and the rest of Gargoyle Team

g12345
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by g12345 »

I have really enjoyed this firmware, the QOS is the best that I have used. I have been having issues and trying to determine if it is my router going bad (I have a WNDR3700V1) or software related. I started out with 1.4.0 version and it worked great, upgraded to 1.4.1 and started having port forward issues. I have always set up manually after upgrading, had issues restoring between versions on DDWRT and assumed it was the same here. My issue is with port forwarding. I had 1.4.1 up and running for a couple days good, then all of the sudden it dropped all my port forwards. I went to set them back up, entered all of them, it flashed saving changes faster than normal, and when I refreshed none of the port forwards were there it would not save. If I enter one at a time I can get them to save sometimes, but then entering another one and saving again wipes some or all of the port forwards back out again. I have upgraded to newer versions as they came out, still been having the same issue with port forwards disappearing and not wanting to let me save them. I had it working for a while on 1.5.2 so I left it alone, but it just wiped the forwards out again yesterday so I upgraded to 1.5.4 but still the same issue. I have tried flashing back to stock through tftp recovery, wiping then, flashing ddwrt and wiping, but every time I go back to Gargoyle it gives me issues with the forwards. I have 30/30/30 reset a bunch of times, still having an issue. Has anyone encountered this before? I am thinking maybe the NVRAM has some bad blocks or something maybe on my unit causing the weirdness, but wanted to see if anyone else had seen this before I drop some more cash on a replacement router. Thanks for any insight you can provide!

Dragon31337
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:14 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by Dragon31337 »

I have some problems with 1.5.4. Atheros 5006 Wireless adapter has unstable WiFi connection now. I'm not sure if it cause by 1.5.4, but connection problems appeared after I've flashed my router to 1.5.4.

Another laptop with 1x1 wireleass adapter works fine. Both laptops are locked to specific IP by MAC.
TL-WR1043ND v1.8 - Gargoyle 1.5.8

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by tals »

Dragon31337 wrote:I have some problems with 1.5.4. Atheros 5006 Wireless adapter has unstable WiFi connection now. I'm not sure if it cause by 1.5.4, but connection problems appeared after I've flashed my router to 1.5.4.

Another laptop with 1x1 wireleass adapter works fine. Both laptops are locked to specific IP by MAC.


Worth going back to your previous version and see if issues continue
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

Trailblazer
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 3:12 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by Trailblazer »

g12345 wrote:I have really enjoyed this firmware, the QOS is the best that I have used. I have been having issues and trying to determine if it is my router going bad (I have a WNDR3700V1) ...


I'm having a problem with my WNDR3700 V1 as well. 1.5.3 shows both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz radios. 1.5.4 only showed the 2.4Ghz radio. Went back to 1.5.3 and the radio is there. Any help?
Netgear WNDR3700V2 Gargoyle 1.10.0
TP-LINK Archer C7 v4 Gargoyle 1.11.x RC4

Dragon31337
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:14 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by Dragon31337 »

I have rolled back to 1.5.3 and wifi works just fine... Something is broken in 1.5.4 with wifi.
TL-WR1043ND v1.8 - Gargoyle 1.5.8

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by hnl_dk »

Trailblazer wrote:
g12345 wrote:I have really enjoyed this firmware, the QOS is the best that I have used. I have been having issues and trying to determine if it is my router going bad (I have a WNDR3700V1) ...


I'm having a problem with my WNDR3700 V1 as well. 1.5.3 shows both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz radios. 1.5.4 only showed the 2.4Ghz radio. Went back to 1.5.3 and the radio is there. Any help?

please report the issue in "Network / Wireless Issues" viewforum.php?f=11
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

jefman
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:46 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by jefman »

My x86 gargoyle stop working when the modem disconnects and reconnects

bjb
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:27 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by bjb »

Dragon31337 wrote:I have some problems with 1.5.4. Atheros 5006 Wireless adapter has unstable WiFi connection now. I'm not sure if it cause by 1.5.4, but connection problems appeared after I've flashed my router to 1.5.4.

Another laptop with 1x1 wireleass adapter works fine. Both laptops are locked to specific IP by MAC.


I might be seeing the same thing on 1.4.7 vs 1.4.6 on my 1043nd. I was actually blaming the laptop (on one the wireless ping to the 1043nd was all over the place latency wise -- even if it was in the same room as the router, the other laptop was working better, although not perfect).

I though I was getting interference from the neighbour rather than blaming the firmware, but perhaps I should roll back and see.

braders
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Post by braders »

Could you add functionality to Garygole allowing sorting DHCP leases or export it into csv or smth simmilar?

Post Reply