Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby Eric » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:40 am

New in 1.5.4:
  • Bumps OpenWrt version to latest Backfire version for latest wireless fixes and support of multiple switch models in Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH routers
  • New improved version of Active Congestion Controller. Paul has done OUTSTANDING work on this, and there is now fairly comprehensive QoS documentation on the wiki!
  • Implements ability to configure router as a Tor Relay/Bridge including ability to configure an Obfsproxy bridge (for routers that support Tor)
  • Implements ability to connect to Tor bridge (including Obfsproxy bridge) instead of directly to a relay (for routers that support Tor)
  • Allows monitoring of total Tor Bandwidth usage (for routers that support Tor)
  • Allows access to Tor hidden service addresses from all hosts (toggled and untoggled) when Tor is active and separately toggled for each host (for routers that support Tor)
  • Allows monitoring of bandwidth to/from router itself, which was before included in the "Total" categories, but not recorded seperately
  • Option to attempt to save configuration when upgrading. Some versions may still be incompatible.
  • Fixes monitoring of web history/searches for ranges of IPs
  • Some fixes for mounting/formatting of USB drives
  • Fixes security issue -- bandwidth.csv is no longer visible if not logged in
  • Adds two new optional date formats: dd.mm.yy and yyyy-mm-dd
  • Enable ps wide output in busybox -- allows more accurate listing of running processes when logged in via SSH
  • Sets cron loglevel to 9 so syslog doesn't show every time a cronjob runs (which can quickly clutter up the system log)

New in 1.4.7:
  • Bumps OpenWrt version to latest Backfire version for latest wireless fixes and support of multiple switch models in Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH routers
  • Fixes monitoring of web history/searches for ranges of IPs
  • Fixes security issue -- bandwidth.csv is no longer visible if not logged in
  • Enable ps wide output in busybox -- allows more accurate listing of running processes when logged in via SSH

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby DoesItMatter » Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:54 am

I just figured out how to get this compiled on the new version
of Debian Wheezy - or maybe its Sid - and a new version comes out!

I'll try out my compile this evening and then try out these versions!

Only thing I could not get installed was uglifyjs but I'm hoping
the compiled versions will still flash in the size limits.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby hnl_dk » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:07 pm

DoesItMatter wrote:...
Only thing I could not get installed was uglifyjs but I'm hoping
the compiled versions will still flash in the size limits.

it is only possible to install uglifyjs on debian experimental.
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby Eric » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:21 pm

Just FYI, even though you see a warning message if you don't have uglifyjs installed, it will still build fine if you don't have it. The warning is just a warning, not an error -- it won't crash the build.

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby DoesItMatter » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:51 pm

Eric wrote:Just FYI, even though you see a warning message if you don't have uglifyjs installed, it will still build fine if you don't have it. The warning is just a warning, not an error -- it won't crash the build.


Yep, it built just fine. Just the binaries are a little larger
than normal, so may affect flashing on certain routers.

I'll try it on mine when I get home and see if any difference.

I did it off the 2/29 GIT at about 11PM Pacific that night.

So I think it should be near identical to this release version.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

bake15
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby bake15 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:52 pm

Loaded fine on a 3700v2.

Like the look of the new QOS/ACC 8-)

Great work guys.

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby tals » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:18 pm

I always seem to have problems taking my v3700v2 to the next version. Even had the work around to keep the config from 1.5.3. In the end I just loaded 1.5.4 and setup config which takes all of 5 mins and it all works a treat.

Still not quite understanding some of the new qos - much reading to be done :)
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby tals » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:23 pm

Is it intentional that every time you save settings it drops the internet?
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

hnl_dk
Moderator
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:37 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby hnl_dk » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:48 pm

tals wrote:Is it intentional that every time you save settings it drops the internet?

after some saves the router needs to get rebooted, so yes internet drops.
Router: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4
AP: TL-WR1043ND - Gargoyle 1.5.4

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1435
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.5.4 & 1.4.7

Postby Eric » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:57 pm

tals, hnl_dk: The router is only rebooted in a few very rare cases.

However, for some (but not all) sections, the network needs to be restarted after settings are saved which does involve a connection drop. The network should come right back up afterwards, though.


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests