Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

MickO
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:25 am

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by MickO »

ah, thanks. i'll backup again in case i need to recover.
cheers. :D

foxyboy
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:23 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by foxyboy »

Lantis,

I did exactly that and changed the plugin_root to the attached usb drive used for dlna media. There seems to be an issue doing this in that when you setup an NFS share on the storage you do not appear to get the exports created successfully so cannot mount them remotely.

I had this 2nd AP on 1.10 and it was functioning as expected.
ill try it with 1.11 to verify

rgs
foxyboy
Linksys WRT1200AC v1 Gargoyle 1.12
TP-Link WR1043ND v2.1 Gargoyle 1.12
Ubiquiti Airrouter 1.9.X

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5418
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by Lantis »

foxyboy wrote:Lantis,

I did exactly that and changed the plugin_root to the attached usb drive used for dlna media. There seems to be an issue doing this in that when you setup an NFS share on the storage you do not appear to get the exports created successfully so cannot mount them remotely.

I had this 2nd AP on 1.10 and it was functioning as expected.
ill try it with 1.11 to verify

rgs
foxyboy


I wasn't able to reproduce this. I also tested on 1.13.x and that was fine.
What i did note is that when using an NFS share on an EXT4 formatted disk, the permissions were a little wacky and needed to be fixed on the client.
EXT4 is a requirement of the plugin root, so if you're trying to use those together then yes you may run into some peculiarities around file permissions, but i never had any trouble mounting/unmounting the file share.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Batroc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 4:30 am

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by Batroc »

Just upgraded my TP-Link Archer C7 v2 from 1.10.0 to 1.12.0 using the gargoyle_1.9.0-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin file.

Didn't preserve settings once upgrade was complete, simply added my PPPoE details in and internet was backup and running with no issues.

Little bit of a risk given its school holidays and middle of the day, but took less than 5 minutes! Great work!

User avatar
enzobusca
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:07 pm

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by enzobusca »

Update with "gargoyle_1.12.0-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v2-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin", not preserve settings.

Working correctly: VPN, USB Mount, DDNS and Wireless (2.4 & 5ghz).

Cheers! :D

aszat84
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by aszat84 »

Hello Guys,
Is there any way to preverse settings on my C7 V3 if I would upgrade to 1.12? My version is now 1.10, so if I do 1.10 -> 1.11 with preverse settings, and then 1.11 to 1.12 ? Is it feasible?Thanks in advance!

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5418
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by Lantis »

No, both of those are not advised and will likely result in a soft-bricked router.

The difference between 1.10 -> 1.11 is approximately 2 years of upstream development.
1.11->1.12 is another year.
Too much has changed.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

aszat84
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by aszat84 »

Lantis wrote:No, both of those are not advised and will likely result in a soft-bricked router.

The difference between 1.10 -> 1.11 is approximately 2 years of upstream development.
1.11->1.12 is another year.
Too much has changed.


Thank you!

snake218
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by snake218 »

aszat84 wrote:Hello Guys,
Is there any way to preverse settings on my C7 V3 if I would upgrade to 1.12? My version is now 1.10, so if I do 1.10 -> 1.11 with preverse settings, and then 1.11 to 1.12 ? Is it feasible?Thanks in advance!

No, i tried to preserve settings from 1.10 to 1.12 and router wifi wasn't working. C7 v2

agrohe21
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:51 pm

Re: Version 1.12.0 : New stable version

Post by agrohe21 »

I tried to restore settings from 1.10 to the new 1.12 update but now router will not come up at all. this is the Archer c7 v2. I hope to get it back but not sure of best way to do so. Any advice would help.

UPDATE: I was able to trigger failsafe and use firstboot to get back to stock 1.12. Since I cannot restore all settings was hoping to get my mac to ip and host mappings. I see those are in ethers and hosts respectively. can those be safely added to the current router files or do we have to retype all?
TPLink Archer C7v2
Linksys WRT32x

Post Reply