Version 1.9.2

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Eric »

I'm trying to reproduce the DNS dropdown error reported here, and I'm having trouble finding any problem. If someone could post screenshots and/or a very detailed summary of how to reproduce this problem it would be very helpful.

There was also a report above of 5GHz not working. I also tested that, and couldn't reproduce that issue either. Anyone else experiencing that problem, please post here or let me know via the contact form/email.

Regarding font size... I'm rather confused by this, as the font got bigger, not smaller in this release. The default font size for labels and controls was 10px in the old interface and 11px in the new interface -- that's an increase!

I do fully appreciate that some pages have controls wrapping in ways they ideally shouldn't. The new layout works well for very small screens and very big screens, but intermediate widths tend to have some issues.

Before, everything was fixed width, but to better accommodate smaller, mobile screens, things are now more fluid. The downside is that there are some resolutions which have a few minor quirks. I'm trying to identify these issues and fix them as I encounter them/am made aware of them. Please post specific details/screenshots of form controls that look out of place and I will try to address these problems.

1900pro
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: Version 1.9.2 -Linksys WRT400N

Post by 1900pro »

Hi:

upgraded Version 1.9.2 from 1.6.2 on Linksys WRT400N.

Reboot or power cycle will lost configurations and back to factory default.

reflash firmware and 30/30/30 reset will not help.

roll back to 1.6.2. and configurations will retain.

Is there a way I can save running setting manually via ssh login?

Thanks,
ron

hancox
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:06 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by hancox »

Eric wrote:I'm trying to reproduce the DNS dropdown error reported here, and I'm having trouble finding any problem. If someone could post screenshots and/or a very detailed summary of how to reproduce this problem it would be very helpful.

...



try this, as it was reproduceable for me (from memory), and might highlight the issue.

1) make a change on dns dropdown (don't save)
2) make another change on same screen (wireless channel) (don't save)
3) save it.

If I remember right, it won't commit either change correctly.

I *believe* this broke with the new GUI beta, but i wrote it off as my fault. Sorry :(

gumball3000
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:20 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by gumball3000 »

I just played multiple times with the wi-fi client (static) options, at first the setting for Default server Specified by ISP worked, but after selecting other Wi-fi network it stopped working, i had to manually insert the DNS IPs.

Also the "Use Custom MAC Address" (Wi-Fi client mode) worked for the first time when I've connected to the network (Telekom Fon - 15 min free internet based on router MAC address), but on the following atempts, I had to completely uncheck the box, save the settings, recheck it, modify the MAC address and save again the settings.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

Re:VPN

OpenVPN works fine, used the wrong config file

Couldn't work out what the problems was, tired a couple of gargoyle versions.

Observation that added to my confusion is: if your gargoyle router does not have a working internet connection windows 10 takes ages to connect via wireless. I suspect this is a windows problem? Having said that a cable connection works fine?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

Hi:

upgraded Version 1.9.2 from 1.6.2 on Linksys WRT400N.

Reboot or power cycle will lost configurations and back to factory default.

reflash firmware and 30/30/30 reset will not help.

roll back to 1.6.2. and configurations will retain.

Is there a way I can save running setting manually via ssh login?

Thanks,
ron


30/30/30 reset does nothing

You need to rebuild the router configuration from scratch.

Upgrade not possiable

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

@hancox

Screen shots please

Code: Select all

[img]https://i.imgur.com/mDsaPYy.png[/img]


Image

hancox
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:06 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by hancox »

ispyisail wrote:@hancox

Screen shots please

Code: Select all

[img]https://i.imgur.com/mDsaPYy.png[/img]


Image


I know, I know. I'm doing this from out-of-house, but will post this weekend.

1900pro
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by 1900pro »

ispyisail wrote:
Hi:

upgraded Version 1.9.2 from 1.6.2 on Linksys WRT400N.

Reboot or power cycle will lost configurations and back to factory default.

reflash firmware and 30/30/30 reset will not help.

roll back to 1.6.2. and configurations will retain.

Is there a way I can save running setting manually via ssh login?

Thanks,
ron


30/30/30 reset does nothing

You need to rebuild the router configuration from scratch.

Upgrade not possiable


Reconfigured the router configuration from scratch but after power cycle or soft reboot still lost all the configurations and back to factory default.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

Reconfigured the router configuration from scratch but after power cycle or soft reboot still lost all the configurations and back to factory default.


What about when you configure the bare minimum settings.

e.g. could be something like QOS rule causing the problem?

Post Reply