Version 1.9.2

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Wildcats198311
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 12:48 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Wildcats198311 »

I have been having an issue which just started this morning where my router drops connections and my devices show incorrect router password. I checked the passwords in router settings and nothing has been changed. I save the current settings and my devices reconnect with no issue.

Current firmware is 1.9.2 on WD MyNet N750.

Smashing
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:02 pm

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Smashing »

I was getting my network clogged by some windows machines on network (3mbit DSL). So I headed to QoS finally.

First problem: TimeWrap bug came back, AGAIN. Plugged the permament usb serial and tried to fix the problem with Time-Zones like the last time. Nothing helps, so time to make a backup of /user/data/bwmon to /var/usb_mount/

Deleted my bwmon and poking around with QoS. Everything was going fine (Without bwmon..)
Reboot for testing and all default and custom clases and rules vanished.

Reconfigured the classes and rules. Saved. Reboot and back to square 1.


I'll reset try to reset to defaults and reconfigure from scratch.

There's any way to export the /user/bwmon stats to csv or something I can import to archive?

-- Restored and configured everything and after adding another rule all the rules and classses were deleted again. So I backed up /etc/config/qos_gargoyle and keep edit/back/restore everytime they're gone.

I really like the Active Congestion Control to keep my ping skyrocketing up to 3 seconds...

I should setup 1 vm with pfsense with a proxy to easy the network...

d3fz
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by d3fz »

Smashing wrote:Restored and configured everything and after adding another rule all the rules and classses were deleted again. So I backed up /etc/config/qos_gargoyle and keep edit/back/restore everytime they're gone.


Make sure you're not leaving multiple tabs opened when setting QoS rules, I get the same behavior (rules/classes disappearing) when there is two tabs pointing to "192.168.1.1/qos_download.sh", for example.
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 - Gargoyle 1.12.X
TP-Link WR842ND v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link RE450 AC v2 - Stock FW 1.0.4
TP-Link WA850RE v1.2 - LEDE 17.01.1

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Cralis »

Just to confirm... I currently have:

Gargoyle Version:1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69)
Model:TP-Link TL-WR1043N/ND v3

So, I need to download:

gargoyle_1.9.2-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr1043nd-v3-squashfs-sysupgrade

And that will upgrade my router to the latest 1.9.2?
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5624
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Lantis »

That is correct
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

User avatar
olo
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:51 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by olo »

Hi,
I've been using v1.9.1 on TP-Link 1043ND v1.8 successfully with an uptime around 286 days.
Yesterday I did a backup and tried to perform an upgrade to v1.9.2 with gargoyle_1.9.2-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr1043nd-v1-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin file with correct checksum.
After waiting for about 40 minutes, the system does not boot and I cannot enter the failsafe recovery mode.

Is there anything I can do to recover my router?

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

Did you try to preserve settings?

Keep trying fail safe

If all fails you need a serial cable to recover

User avatar
olo
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:51 am

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by olo »

Yes, I did try to preserve settings.

Is the serial cable a necessity? What about the hidden TFTP from server 192.168.0.66? I haven't tried this yet.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4849
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by ispyisail »

Yes, I did try to preserve settings.


Most likely your problem.

See the OpenWRT wiki for possible recover solutions for your router

Cralis
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 9:50 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.9.2

Post by Cralis »

Successful upgrade WITH preserve settings. Was quick and easy.

Graphs are larger. A bit disappointing because now I need to scroll around to see them. Running at 27" UHD monitor. Menus and founts much better, thanks! Not seeing anything new though. But looks much better - thanks!
Using a WR1043ND V3 with 1.9.X (Built 20160602-1751 git@09ccf69), Full Bridge.

Post Reply