Adblock Plugin

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by tapper »

Addblock is working fine over here on a c7 and a wrt1900ac v2. I uninstalled and installed again just to test.

To those having issues, you mite want to think about resetting your routers and starting again with the setup.

+1 for a way to ad more block lists in the GUI like the adblock plugin for openwrt pleas.
There is tick boxes for each list and you can toggle them on and off.
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

arejaytee
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:59 am

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by arejaytee »

Lantis wrote:What version have you installed?
It doesn't look like the latest based on the errors provided.


1.1.2 from your plugin repo, anyway I can confirm that from files?

arejaytee
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:59 am

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by arejaytee »

arejaytee wrote:
Lantis wrote:What version have you installed?
It doesn't look like the latest based on the errors provided.


1.1.2 from your plugin repo, anyway I can confirm that from files?


After a complete manual uninstall following directions from OP, and reinstalling from the Plugin manager with your plugin repo source I get this when I install,

Code: Select all

Sun Jan 29 22:59:25 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/etc: Operation not permitted
Sun Jan 29 22:59:25 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/tmp: Operation not permitted
Sun Jan 29 22:59:25 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/var: Operation not permitted
Sun Jan 29 23:00:01 2017 kern.info kernel: [  141.210000] nf_conntrack: automatic helper assignment is deprecated and it will be removed soon. Use the iptables CT target to attach helpers instead.
Sun Jan 29 23:00:18 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/etc: Operation not permitted
Sun Jan 29 23:00:18 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/tmp: Operation not permitted
Sun Jan 29 23:00:18 2017 daemon.err uhttpd[1726]: ln: /plugin_root/var: Operation not permitted


EDIT: Even a new USB same things are incurring, will have to try a full wipe and start again as tapper suggested. Thought that would basically happen with an upgrade with no settings preservation.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5717
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

You installed the latest ispy, with the new interface?
If so you should be using
http://lantisproject.com/gargoyle_ispyi ... n-12-2017/
For your packages (including the relevant sub folder).

The latest version being 1.2.0

But yes it sounds like you now need to either reflash or factory reset. The file system appears very unhappy.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

imbaSD
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:25 am

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by imbaSD »

is there any way to add manually a online directory with DNS to block?
If yes, how i can manage that?

newbie here
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 @1.12

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5717
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

Please clarify your question. I don't understand.

Can you add your own sites to the block list? Yes.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

d3fz
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:34 pm

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by d3fz »

Lantis wrote:Please clarify your question. I don't understand.

Can you add your own sites to the block list? Yes.


I think he meant manually adding new hosts sources to block ?

I've had the same question a while ago after installing your plugin (works great!), and managed to manually add new hosts sources by editing these lines inside this file /plugin_root/usr/lib/adblock/runadblock.sh

Code: Select all

#Download and process the files needed to make the lists
logger -t ADBLOCK Retrieving ad lists from remote source
   wget -qO- "http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt"|awk -v r="$ENDPOINT_IP4" '{sub(/^0.0.0.0/, r)} $0 ~ "^"r' > /tmp/block.build.list
   wget -qO- "http://adaway.org/hosts.txt"|awk -v r="$ENDPOINT_IP4" '{sub(/^127.0.0.1/, r)} $0 ~ "^"r' >> /tmp/block.build.list


Hosts sources from this repository, for example:
https://github.com/StevenBlack/hosts

Still trying to figure out which ones to add, without hammering my router disk space (32MB), the default consolidated StevenBlack's host file is simply too big.
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 - Gargoyle 1.12.X
TP-Link WR842ND v2 - Gargoyle 1.10.X
TP-Link RE450 AC v2 - Stock FW 1.0.4
TP-Link WA850RE v1.2 - LEDE 17.01.1

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5717
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

It is indeed a balance game.
The openwrt Adblock plugin has something like 20 sources. I believe in order to process them without crashing it does all sorts of checks on the specs of the router first, and then processes them in a staggered way.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

imbaSD
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:25 am

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by imbaSD »

d3fz wrote:
Lantis wrote:Please clarify your question. I don't understand.

Can you add your own sites to the block list? Yes.


I think he meant manually adding new hosts sources to block ?


Yes i mean exactly this.
Thank you
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 @1.12

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5717
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

As per d3fz post you can modify the plugin. I don't offer any support in doing so.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply