1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by Lantis »

You shouldn't need to.
Please try with "enforce dhcp assignments" off. Do not use this setting. If it works, let me know.
Preferably test a wired device as well, as the issue may be related to wifi only.

Otherwise you'll need to start sharing a copy of your settings so they can be checked for errors.
Status -> Overview, Connection -> Basic, DHCP
Screenshots of each page will be fine (hosted elsewhere, not attached to the forum).
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nightanole
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by nightanole »

tob99 wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:42 am
Any ideas why do i need to set static ip on my all devices when static ip assignment is turned on for one device on router? :)
DHCP and Static pools dont overlap do they? I have static .2-.99, and DHCP .100-.199

westapher317
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:34 pm
Location: USA

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by westapher317 »

Lantis - I noticed you posted updated builds earlier today at:

https://lantisproject.com/gargoyle_custom/1.13.x/

Do these address what appears (to me, at least) to be a problem with the 5Ghz signal calculations on the "Connected Hosts" page? Running your build from 20210904.

I can't post a photo of this because "sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached" ... idk. What am I doing wrong there?

Anyway, the 5Ghz signal calculations are all positive figures, unlike the 2.4Ghz ones (those seem normal). Running iwinfo also reveals SNRs over 100 for 5Ghz ... again, idk, but it looks weird to me.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by Lantis »

No fixes for that. Can you post a screenshot at somewhere external (e.g. Imgur?) And link it here?
The output from iwinfo for both 2.4 and 5ghz would be good to compare as well.
Also what device you're running please.

Edit:

Might as well give the output of this per phy0/1 as well
iw phy0 station dump

I'm leaning towards a driver issue not reporting the value correctly, but always a chance the code is doing something strange.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

tob99
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:36 am

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by tob99 »

nightanole wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:40 am
tob99 wrote:
Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:42 am
Any ideas why do i need to set static ip on my all devices when static ip assignment is turned on for one device on router? :)
DHCP and Static pools dont overlap do they? I have static .2-.99, and DHCP .100-.199
Yes, they overlap but i have same setting on 1.12 and it works well without any problem.

I solved my problem which makes internet stops working after adding some clients to static ip assignment.
The problem was i used "+" sign and space bar in hostname field. E.g. "vu+", "HP printer".
I use hostnames including these signs on 1.12 and there never was any problem, 1.12 allows to use "+" sign. So i used similar hostnames on 1.13 image. There was not any warning that i'm going to use forbidden signs, configuration was saved.
After removing them from hostname field it works.

Guys, thank you for your suggestions to solve my problem. And thank you for your effort to develop Gargoyle. You make great job!
wrt32x
1.12.0

westapher317
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:34 pm
Location: USA

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by westapher317 »

Lantis - just PMed you a link.

Edit: Device is a TP-Link Archer C7 v5. Seen the same on a C7 v2 and A7 v5, so it would appear to affect the C7/A7 models across the board.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by Lantis »

PM received. Haven't dug into the data yet.
Anyone else with an Archer C7 V5 (or similar device, there's a few clones) seeing the same behaviour?
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

snake218
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: 1.13.0.x gargoyle-ispy 2021-August-15 20

Post by snake218 »

tob99 wrote:
Tue Sep 21, 2021 2:36 pm
Lantis wrote:
Tue Sep 21, 2021 8:04 am
Are you turning on "enforce dhcp assignments"?
I've tested it a little bit more and now i know that turning on "enforce dhcp assignments" does not matter.

I made clean instal 1.13 image again. I made configuration in this order: router ip (lan ip), dhcp range, wireless AP. In the end i've added static ip assignment for HP printer and saved.
After that internet stopped to work. Internet does not work as was written before (no internet over lan and wifi. Wireless devices are trying to connect AP but can not get ip address).

I tried to set static ip on connected devices and this was good idea.

It looks like dhcp server (automatic ip assignment) stops to work when even one client device is added to static ip. I don't know why. And there is no difference between "enforce dhcp assignments" checked or not.
Had the same problem with previous build April 1.13.0, tried to assign every device a static IP and devices can't connect to router. Solution for me was to revert back to last stable 1.12.
I'm using an Archer C7 v2.

Post Reply